Is there a guardians rising faq?

Discussion in 'Professor Forum' started by kjnewsum, Apr 22, 2017.

  1. kjnewsum

    kjnewsum New Member

    Myself and a couple of the UK judges were wondering if there is a FAQ for the new set?
    I couldn't find one but my phone doesn't work well with the forums.

    Kelly N
    Nottingham UK
    Stage 2 TCG
     
  2. PokePop

    PokePop Administrator

    We turned one in...

    Guess it didn't make it to the Prof Forums.

    Here it is here and I'll post a copy there too

    SM: Guardians Rising – FAQ


    POKEMON ABILITIES:

    == DAUNTING POSE (Machoke - SM:Guardians Rising)

    Q. What happens if I try to use Chandelure's "Shady Move" Ability to move a damage counter from my Pokemon to one of my opponent's Pokemon while they have a Machoke with "Daunting Pose" Ability in play? And what happens if I try to move one of my opponent's damage counters from one Pokemon to one of their Benched Pokemon.
    A. In both cases Shady Move would remove the damage counter from the first Pokemon, but the second Pokemon would not receive it because it is protected by Daunting Pose. If you try to move damage *to* something that blocks effects, the damage disappears; if you try to move damage *from* something that blocks effects, the damage stays there. But Daunting Pose only prevents putting damage counters ON your Benched Pokemon; it does not prevent taking damage counters OFF your Pokemon.


    == HOT POISON (Salazzle - SM:Guardians Rising)

    Q. For Salazzle's "Hot Poison" Ability, can I choose to only Poison or only Burn the opponent's Active Pokemon? Or do I have to do them both?
    A. No, you must apply either both Special Conditions or not use the Ability.


    == SHADY MOVE (Chandelure - SM:Guardians Rising)

    Q. For Chandelure's "Shady Move" Ability, am I allowed to move a damage counter from one of my Pokemon to one of my opponent's Pokemon?
    A. Yes, you can.

    Q. What happens if I try to use Chandelure's "Shady Move" Ability to move a damage counter from my Pokemon to one of my opponent's Pokemon while they have a Machoke with "Daunting Pose" Ability in play? And what happens if I try to move one of my opponent's damage counters from one Pokemon to one of their Benched Pokemon.
    A. In both cases Shady Move would remove the damage counter from the first Pokemon, but the second Pokemon would not receive it because it is protected by Daunting Pose. If you try to move damage *to* something that blocks effects, the damage disappears; if you try to move damage *from* something that blocks effects, the damage stays there. But Daunting Pose only prevents putting damage counters ON your Benched Pokemon; it does not prevent taking damage counters OFF your Pokemon.


    == STEELWORKER (Dhelmise - SM:Guardians Rising)

    Q. If I have more than one Dhelmise in play, do I get to add 10 damage for Metal Pokemon attacks for each one of their "Steelworker" Abilities?
    A. Yes, they will stack.


    POKEMON ATTACKS:

    == ROLL CALL (Politoed - SM:Guardians Rising)

    Q. What happens if I have less than three spaces on my bench when using Politoed's "Roll Call" attack? Or what if I don't have any room on my bench at all?
    A. You can use the attack no matter how many Pokemon are on your Bench, but you can only get as many Pokemon as you have spaces on your Bench.

    Q. What happens if I use Politoed's "Roll Call" attack and cannot find a Poliwag, Poliwhirl and/or Poliwrath in my deck?
    A. When performing an attack you do as much of it as you can. And since the contents of the deck are unknown you can also voluntarily fail to find one or more of the Pokemon you are searching for.


    == TRACTORBEAM (Gothitelle - SM:Guardians Rising)

    Q. What happens to Gothitelle's "Tractorbeam" attack if the opponent has no benched Pokemon?
    A. If you can't switch a new Pokemon, the attack doesn’t do any damage.
     

Share This Page