Jan. 22,2004 PUI Rules Team Meeting

Discussion in 'Ask the Rules Team' started by Sensei, Jan 23, 2004.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Sensei

    Sensei Team Compendium Emeritus Staff Member Trader Feedback Mod

    Hey all,the site prolly won`t be updated `til this weekend so here`s the rulings from last nights chat.Enjoy!

    `Sensei

    -------------

    * January 22nd 2004 PUI Rules Team Meeting -- (*) --


    xxxxxxxxx1xxxxxxxxx2xxxxxxxxx3xxxxxxxxx4xxxxxxxxx5xxxxxxxxx6xxxxxxxxx7xxxxxxxxx8


    ----------------------------------------------------------------------
    ERRATA
    ----------------------------------------------------------------------



    ----------------------------------------------------------------------
    POKEMON POWERS
    ----------------------------------------------------------------------

    == BABY EVOLUTION (several - EX:Sandstorm)

    Q. If I use "Baby Evolution" to evolve Pichu into Pikachu, or Wynaut
    into Wobbuffet, is the resulting Pokemon (Pikachu, Wobbuffet, etc.)
    considered an "Evolved Pokemon", or is it still considered as a "Basic
    Pokemon"?
    A. Any time you evolve a Pokemon into another stage, it is considered
    to be an "Evolved Pokemon", even if the words written on the card say
    "Basic". Alternatively, the quick and dirty way to figure this out
    is...is there a Pokemon underneath it? If yes, then it's evolved. (Jan 22,
    2004 PUI Rules Team)


    == FRENZY (Dark Primeape - Team Rocket)

    Q. With the new Confusion rules, does Dark Primeape's "Frenzy" Pokemon
    Power do extra damage to himself on a failed confusion flip? Old
    confusion rule: Failed flip, do 20 damage to yourself. New confusion rule:
    failed flip, place 3 damage counters on yourself.
    A. Since the Confusion rule is now to "place 3 damage counters" rather
    than "doing 20 damage", Frenzy would not add any additional damage to
    Dark Primeape if the Confusion flip is tails. (Jan 22, 2004 PUI Rules
    Team)


    ----------------------------------------------------------------------
    POKEMON ATTACKS
    ----------------------------------------------------------------------

    == SURPRISE (Murkrow - Sandstorm; Duskull - Sandstorm)

    Q. Would we be able to use Murkrow's "Surprise" attack even when your
    opponent has no hand, just to screw up your opponent's Oracle or
    PokéNav, or whatever...?
    A. Sorry, but if you can't choose a card from your opponent's hand,
    there would be nothing for you to shuffle in. (Jan 22, 2004 PUI Rules
    Team)


    ----------------------------------------------------------------------
    TRAINER CARDS
    ----------------------------------------------------------------------

    == ENERGY RECYCLE SYSTEM (EX:Dragon)

    Q. With Energy Recycle System, do you have to shuffle 3 energies in or
    can you do only 2? Or what happens if you only have 2 in your discard
    pile; can you shuffle the two in or not? The card doesnt say "up to"
    like some other cards do.
    A. Well, since it does not say "up to", it's either shuffle in exactly
    3 Basic energies or you can put 1 Basic energy into your hand. If you
    only have 2 Basic energies in the discard pile, then 1 to your hand is
    the only option available. (Jan 22, 2004 PUI Rules Team)


    == ENERGY SEARCH (Fossil; Expedition; EX:Ruby/Sapphire)

    [CHRISBO NOTE: Update existing ruling with newer information.]

    Q. If you use an Energy Search and don't find any Basic Energy, do you
    still discard the Energy Search?
    A. Yes, you would still discard it. (Jan 15, 2004 PUI Rules Team)

    Q. If you use an Energy Search and don't find any Basic Energy, can you
    then play another Energy Search even though you know it will fail?
    A. Yes, you can search for energy cards even if you know you won't find
    them. They exist as legal cards, therefore they can be searched for.
    (Jan 15, 2004 PUI Rules Team; Jan 22, 2004 PUI Rules Team)

    ***** PREVIOUS RULING: THIS ONE HAS SINCE BEEN CLARIFIED AND PARTIALLY
    OVERRULED; See Above *****
    Q. If you use an Energy Search and don't find any Basic Energy, do you
    still discard the Energy Search? If so, can you then play another
    Energy Search, even though you know it will fail?
    A. You would still discard the first one. However, unless the
    contents of your deck change before playing the second one it would not be
    allowed. In other words, if you already know there isn't any energy in
    your deck, you really shouldn't play the second one. (Jan 15, 2004 PUI
    Rules Team)



    == POKEMON NURSE (Expedition)

    Q. Can a player use Pokemon Nurse on a pokemon with no damage on it,
    but still discard the energy from it? Is removing Damage a condition of
    being able to play Pokemon Nurse?
    A. Yes, you can play Pokemon Nurse even if there are no damage counters
    on that Pokemon, but you would still have to discard the energy if
    there were any attached. (Jan 22, 2004 PUI Rules Team)


    == POTION (Base Set; Expedition; EX:Ruby/Sapphire)

    [CHRISBO NOTE: Update existing ruling for clarity.]
    Q. The Expedition and Ruby/Sapphire versions of Potion says "remove 2
    damage counters", but the original version said "remove *UP TO* 2 damage
    counters". Which way should we play the card?
    A. You can only play Potion if you have 1 or more damage counters on
    that Pokemon. Zero counters will not allow you to use Potion. (Jan 15,
    2004 PUI Rules Team; Jan 22, 2004 PUI Rules Team)


    == WALLY'S TRAINING (EX:Sandstorm)

    Q. Can I use Wally's Training on a Mewtwo to search my deck, even
    though there is no evolution of Mewtwo?
    A. No, there has to at least be the possibility of a valid evolution in
    order to use this card. Sorry. (Jan 22, 2004 PUI Rules Team)

    Q. Can I use Wally's Training on a Machoke to search through my deck,
    even if there are no Machamps in my deck?
    A. Yes you can. Machamp is a valid evolution of Machoke, even if you
    don't have one in your deck. (Jan 22, 2004 PUI Rules Team)


    ----------------------------------------------------------------------
    ENERGY CARDS
    ----------------------------------------------------------------------


    ----------------------------------------------------------------------
    GENERAL GAMEPLAY
    ----------------------------------------------------------------------

    == DECKS

    Q. Can you have Japanese or other foriegn cards in your deck and if so,
    do you have to have an English equivalent of each different foriegn
    card outside your deck?
    A. Yes, foreign cards are allowed. However, you must be able to easily
    explain what the card does; if you misrepresent the card, it could be
    considered cheating. We strongly recommend that you keep a regular one
    in the local language handy outside of your deck if at all possible, but
    it is not an absolute requirement. (Jan 22, 2004 PUI Rules Team)


    == EVOLVING

    Q. If I use "Baby Evolution" to evolve Pichu into Pikachu, or Wynaut
    into Wobbuffet, is the resulting Pokemon (Pikachu, Wobbuffet, etc.)
    considered an "Evolved Pokemon", or is it still considered as a "Basic
    Pokemon"?
    A. Any time you evolve a Pokemon into another stage, it is considered
    to be an "Evolved Pokemon", even if the words written on the card say
    "Basic". Alternatively, the quick and dirty way to figure this out
    is...is there a Pokemon underneath it? If yes, then it's evolved. Likewise,
    when you use an attack like Kabuto's & Omanyte's "Team Assembly" to
    bring other Kabutos and/or Omanytes onto the bench, they are to be treated
    as "Basic Pokemon", even though the words written on the card say
    "Stage 1". Is there a Pokemon underneath it? If not, then it's basic. (Jan
    22, 2004 PUI Rules Team)
     
    Last edited: Jan 23, 2004
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page