Jan.29th 2004 PUI Rules Team Meeting Rulings

Discussion in 'Ask the Rules Team' started by Sensei, Jan 30, 2004.

8 league13 468 60
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Sensei

    Sensei Team Compendium Emeritus Staff Member Trader Feedback Mod

    Hey everyone,we have some good news!While it was an interesting session,we got some of the deferred questions to Japan answered!Some are still awaiting more discussion and replies but it is known that the rest are needed quickly for the CC`s so it looks like we MAY get the rest of them answered by the next week or so!Woot!

    The guys and I don`t have much time to individually answer the forum questions at the moment,so look for that later.Enjoy!

    `Sensei
    ------------------------------


    January 29th 2004 PUI Rules Team Meeting -- (*) --


    xxxxxxxxx1xxxxxxxxx2xxxxxxxxx3xxxxxxxxx4xxxxxxxxx5xxxxxxxxx6xxxxxxxxx7xxxxxxxxx8


    ----------------------------------------------------------------------
    ERRATA
    ----------------------------------------------------------------------


    ----------------------------------------------------------------------
    POKEMON POWERS
    ----------------------------------------------------------------------

    == ANTI-LIGHTNING (Zapdos - Aquapolis)

    Q. Can Flygon use its "Energy Shower" attack to attach energies to the
    legendary birds with Anti-(Lightning/Fire/Water) Powers, since this is
    an attack effect and not a 'normal' energy attachment?
    A. No, Energy Shower does not override the Poke-Body. (Jan 29, 2004 PUI
    Rules Team)


    == CONDUCTIVITY (Dark Ampharos - Neo:Destiny; Ampharos EX - EX:Dragon)

    Q. Would Flygon's "Energy Shower" attack set off Ampharos-EX's
    "Conductivity" power? Like if I set down 6 energy, it would do 60 Damage
    (however I set down the energy)? And if yes, would the damage be done to
    Flygon or to each separate Pokemon that I attach an energy to?
    A. Yes, Flygon would indeed trigger Ampharos-EX's Conductivity; it also
    works the same way for Azumarill's "Drizzle" attack. And the damage
    would be done to each individual Pokemon that gets an energy attached to
    it. (Jan 29, 2004 PUI Rules Team)


    == ENERGY VARIATION (Kecleon - EX:Sandstorm)

    Q. If I have a Kecleon with several basic Energy cards attached and I
    attach a Crystal Shard to it, does its Type change back to Colorless or
    does its Power override the Tool? Would it be 100% Colorless or would
    one of its Types become Colorless (and you would get to choose which
    Type now is Colorless)?
    A. Crystal Shard does override the Poke-Body, and a Pokémon Crystal
    Shard is attached to becomes "Colorless" only. (Jan 29, 2004 PUI Rules
    Team)

    Q. What would happen if a promo Smeargle paints a multi-type (more than
    one type of basic energy card attached) Kecleon? And for that matter,
    what would happen if an already painted Kecleon changed into another
    type with its body?
    A. Even though Kecleon's underlying type may change, the Coloring
    Counter overrides whatever type Kecleon is, or may become. (Jan 29, 2004 PUI
    Rules Team)

    Q. Suppose that Kecleon has a Fire Energy and a Lightning Energy
    attached to it. Can Venomoth (Jungle) use Kecleon as a reference to Shift
    into a Fire or Lightning type? Or does it shift into a multi-type (i.e.
    both Fire AND Lightning) to mimic Kecleon's behavior?
    A. In this case, all of Kecleon's color types are copied. You cannot
    select only one of several Energy types. (Jan 29, 2004 PUI Rules Team)


    == FIRE IMMUNITY (Moltres - Skyridge)

    Q. Can Flygon use its "Energy Shower" attack to attach energies to the
    legendary birds with Anti-(Lightning/Fire/Water) Powers, since this is
    an attack effect and not a 'normal' energy attachment?
    A. No, Energy Shower does not override the Poke-Body. (Jan 29, 2004 PUI
    Rules Team)


    == PURE BODY (Entei - Aquapolis Expansion; Suicune - Aquapolis
    Expansion; Raikou - Skyridge Expansion)

    Q. Can Flygon use its "Energy Shower" attack to attach energies to the
    legendary dogs (i.e. Entei, Raikou, Suicune) with "Pure Body" powers,
    since this is an attack effect and not a 'normal' energy attachment?
    A. You can attach to Pokemon with "Pure Body", but you still have to
    discard an energy card in order to do this. (Jan 29, 2004 PUI Rules Team)


    == RECONSTRUCTION (Buried Fossil - Skyridge)

    Q. Can Buried Fossil evolve into Aerodactyl-EX?
    A. Buried Fossil has special text on it that says, "You may play a
    Pokemon card that evolves from Mysterious Fossil on top of Buried Fossil".
    So yes, you are allowed to evolve your Buried Fossil to Aerodactyl-EX.
    (Jan 29, 2004 PUI Rules Team)


    == SHIFT (Venomoth - Jungle)

    Q. Suppose that Kecleon has a Fire Energy and a Lightning Energy
    attached to it. Can Venomoth (Jungle) use Kecleon as a reference to Shift
    into a Fire or Lightning type? Or does it shift into a multi-type (i.e.
    both Fire AND Lightning) to mimic Kecleon's behavior?
    A. In this case, all of Kecleon's color types are copied. You cannot
    select only one of several Energy types. (Jan 29, 2004 PUI Rules Team)


    == WATER IMMUNITY (Articuno - Skyridge)

    Q. Can Flygon use its "Energy Shower" attack to attach energies to the
    legendary birds with Anti-(Lightning/Fire/Water) Powers, since this is
    an attack effect and not a 'normal' energy attachment?
    A. No, Energy Shower does not override the Poke-Body. (Jan 29, 2004 PUI
    Rules Team)


    ----------------------------------------------------------------------
    POKEMON ATTACKS
    ----------------------------------------------------------------------

    == ENERGY SHOWER (Flygon - EX:Dragon)

    Q. Would Flygon's "Energy Shower" attack set off Ampharos-EX's
    "Conductivity" power? Like if I set down 6 energy, it would do 60 Damage
    (however I set down the energy)? And if yes, would the damage be done to
    Flygon or to each separate Pokemon that I attach an energy to?
    A. Yes, Flygon would indeed trigger Ampharos-EX's Conductivity; it also
    works the same way for Azumarill's "Drizzle" attack. And the damage
    would be done to each individual Pokemon that gets an energy attached to
    it. (Jan 29, 2004 PUI Rules Team)

    Q. Can Flygon use its "Energy Shower" attack to attach energies to the
    legendary dogs (i.e. Entei, Raikou, Suicune) with "Pure Body" powers,
    since this is an attack effect and not a 'normal' energy attachment?
    A. You can attach to Pokemon with the "Pure Body" Power, but you still
    have to discard an energy card in order to do this. (Jan 29, 2004 PUI
    Rules Team)

    Q. Can Flygon use its "Energy Shower" attack to attach energies to the
    legendary birds with Anti-(Lightning/Fire/Water) Powers, since this is
    an attack effect and not a 'normal' energy attachment?
    A. No, Energy Shower does not override the Poke-Body. (Jan 29, 2004 PUI
    Rules Team)


    == PAINT (Smeargle - Promo)

    Q. What would happen if a promo Smeargle paints a multi-type (more than
    one type of basic energy card attached) Kecleon? And for that matter,
    what would happen if an already painted Kecleon changed into another
    type with its body?
    A. Even though Kecleon's underlying type may change, the Coloring
    Counter overrides whatever type Kecleon is, or may become. (Jan 29, 2004 PUI
    Rules Team)


    == SCRUNCH (Chansey - Base Set; Shelgon - EX:Dragon)

    Q. If Shelgon uses Scrunch and gets heads, and then the defending
    pokemon Elekid uses Playful Punch and gets heads, will Scrunch prevent
    Playful Punch damage?
    A. Scrunch will block it because it doesn't specify that the damage has
    to come from an attack. (Jan 29, 2004 PUI Rules Team)


    ----------------------------------------------------------------------
    TRAINER CARDS
    ----------------------------------------------------------------------

    == CRYSTAL CHARD (Skyridge)

    Q. If I have a Kecleon with several basic Energy cards attached and I
    attach a Crystal Shard to it, does its Type change back to Colorless or
    does its Power override the Tool? Would it be 100% Colorless or would
    one of its Types become Colorless (and you would get to choose which
    Type now is Colorless)?
    A. Crystal Shard does override the Poke-Body, and a Pokémon Crystal
    Shard is attached to becomes "Colorless" only. (Jan 29, 2004 PUI Rules
    Team)


    == RARE CANDY (EX:Sandstorm)

    Q. Can I use Rare Candy in conjunction with Buried Fossil to evolve
    into an Omastar, Kabutops, or Aerodactyl? And how about Aerodactyl-EX and
    Kabutops-EX too?
    A. Rare Candy states if you have a card that "Evolves From" your
    Pokemon. Buried Fossil has special text on it that says, "You may play a
    Pokemon card that evolves from Mysterious Fossil on top of Buried Fossil".
    So Rare Candy will work in all these cases. (Jan 29, 2004 PUI Rules
    Team)


    == WALLY'S TRAINING (EX:Sandstorm)

    Q. Can I use Wally's Training in conjunction with Buried Fossil to
    search for an Omanyte, Kabuto, or Aerodactyl? And how about Aerodactyl-EX
    too?
    A. Wally's Training states to search for a card that "Evolves From"
    your active Pokemon. Buried Fossil has special text on it that says, "You
    may play a Pokemon card that evolves from Mysterious Fossil on top of
    Buried Fossil". So Wally's Training will work in both of these
    situations. (Jan 29, 2004 PUI Rules Team)
     
    Last edited: Jan 30, 2004
  2. Sensei

    Sensei Team Compendium Emeritus Staff Member Trader Feedback Mod

    Oops!We forgot to c&p the Wally/Rare Candy Q`s above.I edited them in!

    `Sensei
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page