Join the big protest project against mistranslation!

Discussion in 'Cards: Strategy and Rulings Discussion' started by Magic_Umbreon, Feb 6, 2008.

1. Magic_Umbreon

Magic_Umbreon Researching Tower Scientist, Retired

Magic Umbreon's Translation Protest Project

First, to just introduce myself. I am Alex Bramham a.k.a. Magic_Umbreon from the UK. I'm 16 years old, I started playing pokémon competitevely about two/three years ago. I have a huge interest in logic, particularly Boolean logic. Sudoku, maths and computer programming whatever I love working things out in things like that. Pokémon has always given me great interest in calculating probabilities and such but just recently I've started a little bit of looking at translations of cards. Since there have been varying opinions as to the accuracy of the current translations I've decided to do a little research. Noticing Banette SW's error brought it to people's attention and was confirmed by Tego's experience. (not saying it would not have been noticed without my input but it just made me think it's worth pointing things out).

This big protest project I hope to do, hopefully just to start the ball rolling as other people contribute is a simple but powerful thing:

How closely can we translate GE cards from their japanese text to the standards played today and will we find any inconsisties to provoke errata on the way?

Just to to make things clear:

• I don't know any japanese. The characters just look like random scribbles to me.
    • I've seen a few GE cards in english and I know lots about the sets pre GE as most Pokégym users probably do too.