Judges - heads up heading into City Championships

Discussion in 'Compendium Notices' started by bulbasnore, Nov 26, 2008.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. bulbasnore

    bulbasnore Administrator Staff Member Trader Feedback Mod

    Now that we have rulings back from PUI and posted in time for City Championships, let’s take a quick look at a few things that could come up and would be good to have worked out ahead of time.
    This beastie’s Poké-POWER, Fainting Spell, is going to be one you will encounter and need to be sharp about. In no particular order:
    • Psychic Lock doesn’t interact with Fainting Spell anymore than it did Phoenix Turn.
    • Fainting Spell is not turned off by special conditions.
    • Fainting Spell is not triggered by:
      • being devolved
      • KO by special conditions
      • KO by placing damage counters
    • It is NOT a mandatory game action (no POWER is)
      • watch out for rushing by the opponent to short-circuit the activation
      • don’t force it to be applied or rewind to it when someone legitimately forgot to apply it
    Ttar’s Poké-BODY, Darkness Drive, happens AFTER the effect of any Poké-POWER, so of course it can pick up a Darkness energy discarded from your deck by a POWER.

    Type Casting

    As you know, Stormfront Infernape and Torterra don’t get the benefit of abilities like Wild Growth and Heat Metal because of their type… until they level up. The Lv.X card’s type applies when it is in play.
    Our old friend Charizard, in like manner gets the benefit of Heat Metal when it is Fire type, even if the attached energy is natively, say Darkness type. However, if you change Charizard’s type, say with Weavile, then you can’t get the benefit of Heat Metal.

    1 time, 2 times and half a time

    Luxury Ball can’t be used if another copy is in the discard. Using the effect one time is good but using the effect of a second copy is bad. You might want to huddle up with the HJ & TO and decide your approaches to this, if it happens. In my opinion, it’s not quite as game breaking as past abuses, such as a double Quick Search or POW! Hand Extension while ahead on prizes. It is kind of on the order of leaving a Protective Orb on a basic while you Rocket’s Admin… a little *illegal* edge.

    Raichu’s Link Lightning let’s your players attack twice in a turn. Players can use Voltage Shoot twice, if they have the requirements. However, if there are two KO’s from the attacks, the opponent replaces his or her active after the first KO and the Raichu player takes a prize before the second attack!

    The Poke … + cards — Healer, Blower, Drawer — can be played for ‘half the effect’. Again, what if a player drops one Poke Blower + and summons his opponent’s Pokemon from the bench? This is something, like flipping cards for Gallade’s Psychic Cut, which needs to be done all at once. Again, you might huddle up ahead of time and decide how you’re going to work through the situation if it comes up… either accidentally or on purpose.

    If you want to follow up on any of these things, look up the italicized terms in the index of the Rulings Compendium LvX and reference the cards themselves in the Researching Tower.

    Visit original post on Compendium site...
    Last edited: Nov 26, 2008
  2. meganium45

    meganium45 Active Member


    From another judge's chair...

    Make an effort to have all your players not forget their prizes, and discuss the penalties for the prizes not being out.

    Review the guidelines...it is no longer a "Game Loss" as quickly as it used to be.

    Stress it in your announcements, stress it at the beginning of the round.

    40 minute rounds for swiss. Remember the new timeframe.

    If you aren't sure, check and ask. One sign of a good judge is to know all the rules.

    One sign of a GREAT judge is to confer with other judges and make sure the calls are correct.

    Judging is a "Team Sport". It takes all judges doing their best to make a great event.

    Take pride in your work.


  3. DukeFireBird

    DukeFireBird Gallery Administrator<br>Forum Moderator

    another idea for judges, Especially if your going to be a single judge for the event. CALL other judges. If your confused, call another judge and get some sort of input.
  4. Lawman

    Lawman Active Member

    Thx for this thread Kim! Great to see these items consolidated. This will help many judges AND players get things correct.

  5. spookees

    spookees Active Member

    Moved it onto a word doc and will have copies for all the judges to read! :)
  6. bulbasnore

    bulbasnore Administrator Staff Member Trader Feedback Mod

    Enjoy your event! I just did this in a rush, because I wanted to highlight that a batch of rulings were back & published... could have talked about the Psychic Restore for KO to Gengar avoiding Fainting Spell... or about the requirement to indicate your Poke-POWER use by more than just performing the effect.
  7. PokeDaddy

    PokeDaddy New Member

    Kim -

    Excellent! My only warning here on the gym is when I excavated a (very old) PUI post. Since I know better, I paste it here for all to see. To me, all judges need to know this cold.


  8. KazamBolt

    KazamBolt Active Member

    That Gengar Ruling came up in my friend's game, thanks a lot as it helped him win!
  9. DarthPika

    DarthPika New Member

    Thanks for the typecasting ruling. That one had me stumped for an answer.
  10. Jaeger

    Jaeger New Member

    Isn't the ruling on Gallade you can flip 1 at a time now?
  11. PokePop

    PokePop Administrator

    You're reading a thread that is a year old that was posted on by some kind of sales bot.
  12. homeofmew

    homeofmew Active Member


    It is NOT a mandatory game action (no POWER is)
    • watch out for rushing by the opponent to short-circuit the activation
    • don’t force it to be applied or rewind to it when someone legitimately forgot to apply it
    Recently in a BR a new player was playing and he was using Tyranitar, now darkness drive I know you don't have to activate. I was being nice and told him about darkness drive. Stuff like this really messes me up when I try to help the new people.

    I didn't care when a judge told my opponent switching/leveling up counted after he has issues about "defending pokemon"

    edit: just noticed it was a revive thread oopps :/

    Ampharos PT1 also Shuts of Gengar :3
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page