Kecleon w/Multi or Rainbow Energy

Discussion in 'Cards: Strategy and Rulings Discussion' started by BLiZzArD, Sep 17, 2003.

8 league13 468 60
  1. BLiZzArD

    BLiZzArD New Member

    what is the ruling on this because if it does what I think it does this will be my all time favorite combo
     
    Last edited: Sep 17, 2003
  2. dkates

    dkates New Member

    Won't work. Kecleon's type is that of all BASIC Energies attached. Rainbow and Multi are SPECIAL Energies.
     
  3. BLiZzArD

    BLiZzArD New Member

    that's not how the cards read but I guess it's a ruling right? man this sucksI traded to get these multi energy and Kecleon for nothing
     
  4. dkates

    dkates New Member

    If it doesn't say Basic, it doesn't mean Basic -- I just thought it did say Basic.
     
  5. BLiZzArD

    BLiZzArD New Member

    it says basic but rainbow/multi say basic energy when in play I guess I was just hoping it would work my aggron deck could have really used him
     
  6. dkates

    dkates New Member

    Uh-uh. Rainbow and Multi Energy are never Basic Energies. They just provide those types.
     
  7. RainbowRichards

    RainbowRichards Active Member

    I'm looking at playing Kecleon in my RainbowBurn v.2 with the new Dragons! Actually, Kecleon can do 4x damage to certain EX Pokemon with double weakness!
     
  8. BJJ763

    BJJ763 Trading Mod Supervisor Staff Member Trader Feedback Mod

    Poké-BODY Energy Variation: Kecleon's type is the same as every type of basic Energy card attached to Kecleon.

    Bolded for emphasis.

    Rainbow Energy and Multi Energy do provide every single type of Basic energy but they never count as Basic Energy cards. If Energy Variation did not contain the word "card" Rainbow Energy would work. Also note Kecleon can never be a Dark type nor Metal type.
     
  9. BLiZzArD

    BLiZzArD New Member

    I now realize the error in my ways and have tried to rectify my deck acordingly
     
  10. Son of Leod

    Son of Leod New Member

    I'm intrigued by the comment about double weakness. Seem's like a poke is either weak or not. Has there been a ruling on this?
     
  11. dkates

    dkates New Member

    There are certain ex Pokemon with two Weaknesses. It has been ruled that such Pokemon, when hit by a Kecleon whose types are both of its weaknesses, take 4X the damage they otherwise would have taken.
     
  12. DaytonGymLeader

    DaytonGymLeader New Member

    Where and when did this happen? The Weakness Icons show only what it is weak to, not how many times it's weak.
     
  13. Android17a

    Android17a New Member

    I've been pondering the double weakness thing myself. My question is thus:

    What if Kecleon is the type of both the weakness AND resistance of the defending Pokemon?

    Would they cancel out? Or would you double the damage for weakness, then reduce the damage by 30? Or, even, reduce it by 30, then double it?
     
  14. DaytonGymLeader

    DaytonGymLeader New Member

    They wouldn't cancel each other out, but they would both be applied as per the rulebook. First weakness, doubling the attack, then resistance reducing that number by 30.
     
  15. jdb728

    jdb728 New Member

    Well, if a pokemon has a weakness to the attacking Pokemon, the attack does twice as much damage, if a Pokemon has 2 weaknesses(like Wailord EX) and a pokemon is the types of both weaknesses(like Kecleon), then the attack would do twice as much damage for each weakness.

    You always apply weakness and then resistance if a situation like that occurs(unless of course the card stated to do it another way).
     
  16. Ultramew

    Ultramew New Member

    What happens if a Porygon2 coverts a basic energy into, say a darkness energy? Would Keckleon's Poke-body count that as a dark or what it was originally?
     
  17. GuardianTIM

    GuardianTIM New Member

    If Porygon2 says that an energy on Kecleon now provides Darkness energy, then no, as the basic energy (now providing dark) would still be a basic Energy Card.

    It's just a technicality between "Energy" and "Energy card". It's also one of those things I pick up a lot of other people on, and something I have found that severely restricts some of the cards in my deck.
    However, it does make a difference in the game, just like the distinction between "Energy" and "Basic Energy"...
     
  18. NoPoke

    NoPoke New Member

    It doesn't work.:(.. Look up the Porygon2 and Ho-oh rulings in the compendium.

    Or rather under the current set of rullings it doesn't work. If you were to ask MTJimmer you could get a completely different answer from the Ho-oh Porygon2 ruling. The Porygon2 Ho-oh rulling was controversial on the old gym and is still not easy to get your head around.
     
    Last edited: Sep 18, 2003
  19. PokePop

    PokePop Administrator

    Check the Ask the Master Trainers forum. It has new official rulings.
    Also, the new Compenium also has them.
     
  20. DaytonGymLeader

    DaytonGymLeader New Member

    It's in the new Compendium (which is back up, haven't been able to get to it for a couple of days - gotta love VeriSign). My appologies.
     

Share This Page