Lay the Smackdown GX vs Total Shelter-GX

Discussion in 'Ask the Rules Team' started by kirk_kun, Jan 28, 2019.

  1. kirk_kun

    kirk_kun New Member

    So my friend used Total Shelter-GX with Toxapex-GX on his last turn.
    On my turn I perform Lay the Smackdown GX with Tyranitar GX.

    My friend is arguing that Tyranitar GX's Lay the Smackdown GX will not be able to work on Toxapex-GX after Total Shelter-GX.
    I say Tyranitar GX's Lay the Smackdown GX will be able to work on Toxapex-GX after Total Shelter-GX.
    This would also clarify moves like Shred.
    This is kinda like an unstoppable object meeting an immovable one.

    Please let us know what is going on, I don't like bickering with him.
     
  2. PokePop

    PokePop Administrator

    You are correct.
    Attacks that aren't "affected by any effects..." do get through defensive effects.

    So would Shred.

    This ruling in the Compendium covers the concept:

    Q. If Shiftry uses "Feint Attack" against Whiscash with "Submerge" Poké-BODY on the bench, which one prevails? The attack or the Poké-BODY?
    A. Feint Attack ignores ANY effect on that Pokémon which attempts to prevent its damage; the attack itself specifically states that the attack's damage isn't affected by Poké-Powers and Poké-Bodies (and other things as well). (Jan 8, 2004 PUI Rules Team)
     

Share This Page