Lucario Lv.X

Discussion in 'Cards: Strategy and Rulings Discussion' started by millionkp, Oct 3, 2007.

8 league13 468 60
  1. millionkp

    millionkp New Member

    When you play Lucario LV.X and use Stance, it can't be damaged. THen, you use close combat. You have lucario on your bench and your opponent's active is Empoleon. Will Ice Blade do 30 extra because close combat says "any damage done to Lucario is increased by 30?"

    Just wanted to know.
     
  2. Chairman Kaga

    Chairman Kaga Active Member

    All effects are removed when a Pokemon goes to the bench for any reason. This would include Stance, as well as the extra damage from Close Combat.

    So let me make sure I get your situation properly:

    1. Lucario LvX uses Stance and attacks with Close Combat
    2. Opponent uses something to send Lucario LvX to the bench (Warp Point, etc.)
    3. Opponent attacks Lucario LvX with Ice Blade

    In this case, Ice Blade would do 40.
     
  3. Scipio

    Scipio New Member

    I think he means that you have a Normal Lucario on the bench. Not 100% sure though.
     
  4. Chairman Kaga

    Chairman Kaga Active Member

    I wasn't sure, either, which is why I spelled out what I thought he was saying.

    If that's the actual question, then the answer is still 40. It's a case of the self-referencing rule. "30 extra damage to Lucario" means "30 extra damage to this Lucario".
     
  5. DarthPika

    DarthPika New Member

    Im fairly certain that stance is also refears to lucario, so the effect would remain.
     
  6. PokePop

    PokePop Administrator

    No.
    When a pokemon's attack or Power refers to itself by name, it always, always, always means just itself.

    You can see the difference from things like Kricketune's attack where it is clear that it is talking about all Kricketunes and not just itself by using the word "each"
     
  7. stalkerex

    stalkerex New Member

    An effect referring to itself means that it effecs only the pokemon the text is printed on. It referes to itself, so know other lucario gets involved in the effect.

    Unless it states "All other lucario" ect....
     
  8. DarthPika

    DarthPika New Member

    Woops, I thought he ment his opponent benched one of their pokemon, not the active Lucario lv.x. :tongue:

    Yes if you would bench the active Lucario lv.x you would remove the efects of stance and close combat.

    My mistake. :redface:
     

Share This Page