Mallow and Improper Game Flow

Discussion in 'Judges' Chambers' started by MegaVelocibot, May 8, 2017.

  1. MegaVelocibot

    MegaVelocibot <a href="http://pokegym.net/gallery/browseimages.p

    Player A plays Mallow as the turn's Supporter, searching out two cards. Player A shuffles his or her deck, then, instead of offering Player B a chance to cut the deck, simply puts the two cards on top of the deck. Player B, instead of calling a judge, cuts the deck, thus negating the effect of the Supporter. Player A calls a judge for Player B's actions.

    If both players give the same story, how should this be ruled upon? My best guess in this situation is that Player A should have the chance to replay the situation, with an offer to cut for Player B, but this would allow Player A to select cards potentially different than the original two cards.
     
  2. PokePop

    PokePop Administrator

    That may be, but why would they? And how would you determine if they did or not.
    Given that it was the opponent that misplayed, I would not punish Player 1 for the opponent's error.
    What's the other option - make Player 1 lose all of the benefit of playing the trainer?
    I don't see that as fair.
    He gets to replay the Trainer.
     
  3. MegaVelocibot

    MegaVelocibot <a href="http://pokegym.net/gallery/browseimages.p

    In this situation, I would say both players misplayed; is it not the responsibility of Player A to offer Player B a chance to cut/counter-shuffle before placing the cards atop his or her deck?
     
  4. PokePop

    PokePop Administrator

    Well, yes, there is that, too.

    Penalties and Game State fixes are two different things, though and one shouldn't impact the other.

    The penalty for not offering to cut could be a Game Play Minor in most cases.

    But that doesn't mean that the player should forfeit the actual effect of the play of the trainer.
     

Share This Page