Mar 18,2004 PUI Rules Team Meeting Rulings

Discussion in 'Ask the Rules Team' started by Sensei, Mar 23, 2004.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Sensei

    Sensei Team Compendium Emeritus Staff Member Trader Feedback Mod

    Here ya go everyone.My apologies we did not get this out to you sooner.Enjoy!

    `Sensei
    ---------------------

    This edition of the Rulings Compendium includes:

    |
    |
    |
    * March 18th 2004 PUI Rules Team Meeting -- (*) --


    xxxxxxxxx1xxxxxxxxx2xxxxxxxxx3xxxxxxxxx4xxxxxxxxx5xxxxxxxxx6xxxxxxxxx7xxxxxxxxx8


    ----------------------------------------------------------------------
    ERRATA
    ----------------------------------------------------------------------


    ----------------------------------------------------------------------
    POKEMON POWERS
    ----------------------------------------------------------------------

    == CHAIN OF EVENTS (Minun - EX:Dragon; Plusle - EX:Dragon)

    Q. In a 2-on-2 battle, if I have either Plusle or Minun as one of my
    Actives and it is Asleep, if the other active attacks does "Chain of
    Events" allow my asleep one to use "Cheer On"? In other words, when "Chain
    of Events" is triggered, is Plusle/Minun actually using the attack? If
    so, does this mean that if it's Asleep or Paralyzed, it can still
    'attack'?
    A. Chain of Events only makes the extra attack possible; Minun or
    Plusle still needs to be able to attack in order to take advantage of it.
    (Mar 18, 2004 PUI Rules Team)


    == ENERGY DRAW (Delcatty - EX:Ruby/Sapphire)

    Q. Delcatty's "Energy Draw" Poke-Power states: "Once during your turn
    (before your attack), you may discard 1 energy card from your hand. Then
    draw up to 3 cards from your deck." Can you discard the energy and not
    draw because it states "draw UP TO 3 cards"?
    A. If a card states that you can search for "up to" a certain number,
    you can choose zero. (Mar 18, 2004 PUI Rules Team)


    == HARVEST BOUNTY (Venusaur - Expedition)

    Q. If I use Swampert's "Water Call" to place an energy, can I use
    Venusaur's "Harvest Bounty" power to double it?
    A. Venusaur says "as part of your turn" - this does not refer to the
    playing of an energy card via Poke-Powers or Poke-Bodies. (Mar 18, 2004
    PUI Rules Team)


    == MAGNETIC FIELD (Magneton - EX:Dragon)

    Q. Magneton's "Magnetic Field" Poke-Power states: "Once during your
    turn (before your attack), if you have basic energy cards in your discard
    pile, you may discard any 1 card from your hand. Then search for up to
    2 basic Energy cards from your discard pile, show them to your
    opponent, and put them into your hand." Can you discard the energy and choose
    none because it states "search for UP TO 2 cards"?
    A. If a card states that you can search for "up to" a certain number,
    you can choose zero. (Mar 18, 2004 PUI Rules Team)


    == SYNCHRONICITY (Xatu - Skyridge)

    Q. Is it possible that Skyridge Xatu can use Team Magma and Team Aqua's
    Technical Machines, even if the text says that these Technical Machines
    are specified only for the corresponding team?
    A. Yes, Xatu's Poke-Body states that you may attach any TM to Xatu.
    (Mar 18, 2004 PUI Rules Team)


    == WATER CALL (Swampert - EX:Ruby/Sapphire)

    Q. If I use Swampert's "Water Call" to place an energy, can I use
    Venusaur's "Harvest Bounty" power to double it?
    A. Venusaur says "as part of your turn" - this does not refer to the
    playing of an energy card via Poke-Powers or Poke-Bodies. (Mar 18, 2004
    PUI Rules Team)


    ----------------------------------------------------------------------
    POKEMON ATTACKS
    ----------------------------------------------------------------------

    == STRIKE AND RUN (Dunsparce - EX:Sandstorm)

    Q. If I use Dunsparce's "Strike and Run" in 2 on 2 play and Dunsparce
    is my only Pokemon, do I have to move a Pokemon up from the bench first
    before you choose to use the switch effect of the attack?
    A. You would resolve Dunsparce's attack completely, before handling
    other game rules such as adding a second Active Pokemon. (Mar 18, 2004 PUI
    Rules Team)


    == SUPERNATURAL (Sableye - EX:Sandstorm)

    Q. If there is a Chaos Gym stadium card in play, would I still have to
    roll a heads to see if I can use the trainer card for Sableye's
    "Supernatural" attack?
    A. Well, Supernatural says "You may use the effect of a Supporter card
    you find there as the effect of the attack". That is not the same thing
    as "playing a Supporter", so you can use the effect of the Supporter
    card without having to flip for Chaos Gym. (Mar 18, 2004 PUI Rules Team)


    ----------------------------------------------------------------------
    TRAINER CARDS
    ----------------------------------------------------------------------

    == CHAOS GYM (Gym Challenge)

    Q. If there is a Chaos Gym stadium card in play, would I still have to
    roll a heads to see if I can use the trainer card for Sableye's
    "Supernatural" attack?
    A. Well, Supernatural says "You may use the effect of a Supporter card
    you find there as the effect of the attack". That is not the same thing
    as "playing a Supporter", so you can use the effect of the Supporter
    card without having to flip for Chaos Gym. (Mar 18, 2004 PUI Rules Team)


    == ENERGY RECYCLE SYSTEM (EX:Dragon)

    Q. Are you allowed to play Energy Recycle System if you have no basic
    energy cards in your discard pile?
    A. No, you are not allowed. "Search" is used here as a general term.
    (Mar 18, 2004 PUI Rules Team)


    == RARE CANDY (EX:Sandstorm)

    Q. Can someone play a Retro Energy on an Espeon, discard the Espeon,
    and then use Rare Candy to evolve the Eevee into a Vaporeon all in the
    same turn?
    A. Since both cards break the standard rules of evolution, this
    particular combination can be considered legal. (Mar 18, 2004 PUI Rules Team)


    ----------------------------------------------------------------------
    ENERGY CARDS
    ----------------------------------------------------------------------

    == RETRO ENERGY (Skyridge)

    Q. Can someone play a Retro Energy on an Espeon, discard the Espeon
    card, and then use Rare Candy to evolve the Eevee into a Vaporeon all in
    the same turn?
    A. Since both cards break the standard rules of evolution, this
    particular combination can be considered legal. (Mar 18, 2004 PUI Rules Team)


    ----------------------------------------------------------------------
    GENERAL GAMEPLAY
    ----------------------------------------------------------------------


    ----------------------------------------------------------------------
    TWO ON TWO GAMEPLAY
    ----------------------------------------------------------------------

    == CHAIN OF EVENTS (Minun - EX:Dragon; Plusle - EX:Dragon)

    Q. In a 2-on-2 battle, if I have either Plusle or Minun as one of my
    Actives and it is Asleep, if the other active attacks does "Chain of
    Events" allow my asleep one to use "Cheer On"? In other words, when "Chain
    of Events" is triggered, is Plusle/Minun actually using the attack? If
    so, does this mean that if it's Asleep or Paralyzed, it can still
    'attack'?
    A. Chain of Events only makes the extra attack possible; Minun or
    Plusle still needs to be able to attack in order to take advantage of it.
    (Mar 18, 2004 PUI Rules Team)


    == STRIKE AND RUN (Dunsparce - EX:Sandstorm)

    Q. If I use Dunsparce's "Strike and Run" in 2 on 2 play and Dunsparce
    is my only Pokemon, do I have to move a Pokemon up from the bench first
    before you choose to use the switch effect of the attack?
    A. You would resolve Dunsparce's attack completely, before handling
    other game rules such as adding a second Active Pokemon. (Mar 18, 2004 PUI
    Rules Team)


    ----------------------------------------------------------------------
    TEAM GAMEPLAY
    ----------------------------------------------------------------------


    xxxxxxxxx1xxxxxxxxx2xxxxxxxxx3xxxxxxxxx4xxxxxxxxx5xxxxxxxxx6xxxxxxxxx7xxxxxxxxx8
     
    Last edited: Mar 23, 2004
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page