Mar. 4th, 2004 PUI Rules Team Meeting

Discussion in 'Ask the Rules Team' started by Sensei, Mar 5, 2004.

8 league13 468 60
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Sensei

    Sensei Team Compendium Emeritus Staff Member Trader Feedback Mod

    Surprise!We have TM vs. TA rulings included!Enjoy everyone.

    `Sensei
    --------------------------------------------

    * Team Aqua vs Team Magma FAQ --
    * March 4th 2004 PUI Rules Team Meeting -- (*) --


    xxxxxxxxx1xxxxxxxxx2xxxxxxxxx3xxxxxxxxx4xxxxxxxxx5xxxxxxxxx6xxxxxxxxx7xxxxxxxxx8


    ----------------------------------------------------------------------
    ERRATA
    ----------------------------------------------------------------------


    ----------------------------------------------------------------------
    POKEMON POWERS
    ----------------------------------------------------------------------

    == PRIMAL VIBES (Cradily EX - EX:Team Magma/Team Aqua)

    Q. My opponent has Cradily ex in play. Can I use a Trainer card, or an
    attack on a Pokémon to evolve my Active Pokémon?
    A. You could not use an Pokémon’s attack or play a Trainer card to
    evolve your Active Pokémon, unless the Evolution card you would be putting
    into play, comes from somewhere other than your hand. [So Rare Candy
    cannot be used, but Wally's Training can.] (Team Magma vs Team Aqua
    Prerelease FAQ, Q9; Mar 4, 2004 PUI Rules Team)


    ----------------------------------------------------------------------
    POKEMON ATTACKS
    ----------------------------------------------------------------------

    == AQUA CALL (Team Aqua's Mightyena - EX:Team Magma/Team Aqua)

    Q. Team Aqua’s Mightyena (30) has an attack called Aqua Call - can I
    search for up to 3 different Pokémon with Team Aqua in their name, or up
    to 3 of one specific Pokémon?
    A. Either way; it works in any combination as long as it adds up to
    three or less. The player could search for up to 3 different Team Aqua
    Pokémon, or they can search for up to 3 of the same Team Aqua Pokémon.
    (Team Magma vs Team Aqua Prerelease FAQ, Q10; Mar 4, 2004 PUI Rules Team)


    == AQUA TRANCE (Team Aqua's Sealeo - EX:Team Magma/Team Aqua)

    Q. Team Aqua’s Sealeo (Aqua Trance): It says "At the end of your
    opponent’s next turn, the Defending Pokémon is now Asleep." If I retreat the
    Pokémon that Team Aqua’s Sealeo attacked, does it make the new
    Defending Pokémon Asleep?
    A. No. The effect is tied to the Pokémon that Team Aqua’s Sealeo
    attacked. (Team Magma vs Team Aqua Prerelease FAQ, Q1)


    == HOT AIR (Team Magma's Torkoal - EX:Team Magma/Team Aqua)

    Q. For Team Magma's Torkoal's "Hot Air", do I *have to* discard a fire
    energy or is that part optional? What if the opponent has no bench?
    A. The discarding of Fire energy is mandatory in this case, regardless
    of whether there are any Pokemon on the opponent's bench. (Mar 4, 2004
    PUI Rules Team)

    Q. For Team Magma's Torkoal's "Hot Air", who chooses the benched
    Pokemon to be switched?
    A. Your opponent does. (Mar 4, 2004 PUI Rules Team)

    Q. For Team Magma's Torkoal's "Hot Air", do you do the damage portion
    before or after switching the opponent's Pokemon?
    A. The damage is done before switching. (Mar 4, 2004 PUI Rules Team)



    ----------------------------------------------------------------------
    TRAINER CARDS
    ----------------------------------------------------------------------

    == TEAM AQUA BELT (EX:Team Magma/Team Aqua)

    Q. Can I really double-evolve a Team Aqua Pokémon with two Team Aqua
    Belts on the same turn?
    A. No, for a couple of reasons. First, Team Aqua Belt is a Pokémon
    Tool, and you couldn’t attach a second Pokémon Tool. Next, the evolution
    happens between turns - you wouldn’t have time to attach a second Pokémon
    Tool after the first one resolved. (Team Magma vs Team Aqua Prerelease
    FAQ, Q5)

    Q. Does "Team Aqua Belt" work if attached on the first turn of the
    game, before the second player's first turn?
    A. Yes, it works then. You don't evolve on your first turn - it's
    between turns. (Mar 4, 2004 PUI Rules Team)


    == TEAM AQUA HIDEOUT (EX:Team Magma/Team Aqua)

    Q. Team Aqua Hideout increases the Retreat Cost for certain types of
    Pokémon - how does this affect a Pokémon that has a Poké-Body that
    reduces the cost to zero, or a Pokémon that doesn’t have a cost to retreat?
    A. If a Pokémon doesn’t have a Retreat Cost, it now has a cost of one.
    If a Poke-Body reduces the cost to zero, the cost remains zero. (Team
    Magma vs Team Aqua Prerelease FAQ, Q8)

    Q. If a Pokemon starts out with one retreat, reduces it by one for some
    other effect to zero, would "Team Aqua Hideout" bring it back to one,
    or would it stay zero?
    A. If something says "reduces the cost to X", that's where it stays.
    But if it says "reduce the cost *by* X", it's just math. For example,
    +1, -1, +1 = +1. If the final result is a negative number, then the
    final retreat cost is zero. (Mar 4, 2004 PUI Rules Team)


    == TEAM MAGMA BALL (EX:Team Magma/Team Aqua)

    Q. How does Team Magma Ball work?
    A. Regardless of how the coin flip works out, you can always get a
    Basic Pokémon with Team Magma in its name. If you get heads, you can fetch
    an Evolution card with Team Magma in its name, instead. (Team Magma vs
    Team Aqua Prerelease FAQ, Q6)


    ----------------------------------------------------------------------
    ENERGY CARDS
    ----------------------------------------------------------------------

    == ARCHIE / MAXIE (EX:Team Magma/Team Aqua)

    Q. Can I play "Archie" or "Maxie" on my first turn?
    A. It isn't considered evolving, so sure. (Mar 4, 2004 PUI Rules Team)

    Q. What happens if I play a Stage 1 Pokémon using Archie or Maxie -
    does it receive 1 damage counter?
    A. If you use it to find a Basic or Stage 1 Pokémon, that Pokémon goes
    to the Bench [and does not receive any damage counters]. If it’s a
    Stage 2 Pokémon, it takes 2 damage counters. Regardless of what Evolution
    stage the Pokémon is in, it’s treated as a Basic Pokémon. (This does not
    remove any Pokémon-ex rules that may have already been a part of the
    Pokémon.) (Team Magma vs Team Aqua Prerelease FAQ, Q7)


    == AQUA ENERGY / MAGMA ENERGY (EX:Team Magma/Team Aqua)

    Q. Aqua Energy and Magma Energy have slightly different wordings. How
    do they work?
    A. Aqua Energy can provide either 2 Water Energy, 2 Darkness Energy, or
    one of both Water and Darkness. Magma Energy can provide either 2
    Fighting Energy, 2 Darkness Energy, or one of both Fighting and Darkness.
    (Team Magma vs Team Aqua Prerelease FAQ, Q4)


    == DOUBLE RAINBOW ENERGY (EX:Team Magma/Team Aqua)

    Q. Double Rainbow Energy says, "can be attached only to an Evolved
    Pokémon (excluding Pokémon-ex)". Does that mean that I can attach it to a
    Pokemon-EX that is a basic (like Syther-EX)?
    A. Sorry, but that means that you cannot attach it to ANY -EX Pokémon
    whether it's evolved or basic. (Mar 4, 2004 PUI Rules Team)

    Q. Double Rainbow says, "Damage done to your opponent's Pokémon... is
    reduced by 10 (after applying Weakness and Resistance)." Does this
    reduction apply if the attack is "placing damage counters" rather than
    "doing damage"?
    A. No, reduction does not apply if the attack "places damage counters".
    (Mar 4, 2004 PUI Rules Team)

    Q. Does Double Rainbow Energy reduce the amount of damage done to an
    opponent's benched Pokemon, or only to their Active Pokemon?
    A. The reduction applies to both their Active and Benched Pokemon. (Mar
    4, 2004 PUI Rules Team)

    Q. Double Rainbow Energy states that it can only be attached to an
    Evolved Pokémon. What happens if I play a card [or attack, or Pokemon
    Power, etc.] that lets me move it to a Basic Pokémon?
    A. Double Rainbow Energy can only be moved onto another Evolved
    Pokémon. (Team Magma vs Team Aqua Prerelease FAQ, Q3)


    ----------------------------------------------------------------------
    GENERAL GAMEPLAY
    ----------------------------------------------------------------------

    == DECKS

    Q. Can you mix Team Magma and Team Aqua cards in the same deck?
    A. Yes. There is no rule preventing you from playing rival teams in the
    same deck. The cards generally work better within the same team, but
    it’s up to the player how they build their decks. (Team Magma vs Team
    Aqua Prerelease FAQ, Q2)
     
  2. PokePop

    PokePop Administrator

    Note: We only had time to cover TMvTA rulings this week.
    All other rulings have been deferred to next week.
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page