Marmar EX's Smokescreen attack - Can anything make it go away?

Discussion in 'Ask the Rules Team' started by DarkTyranitar, Mar 17, 2004.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. DarkTyranitar

    DarkTyranitar New Member

    Magmar Ex's Smokescreen attack states: "If the Defending Poke'mon tries to attack during your opponent's next turn, your opponent flips a coin. If tails, that attack does nothing."

    My question is if I have a Magmar EX out and attack with its Smokescreen attack, if my opponent benches or evolves their defending pokemon would they still have to flip in order to attack with their new pokemon?

    My thoughts on this are "No, since we are now talking about a different "Defending Poke'mon," but I would like clarification on this topic.

    Thanks.

    - Tony
     
  2. PokePop

    PokePop Administrator

    It's the exact same rulings as for Magmar's Smokescreen from the fossil set.
    Check the archived Compendium.
    You are correct, benching the Pokemon that was attacked gets rid of the effect.
    How'd you do at the Pokemon Center prerelease, by the way?
     
    Last edited by a moderator: Mar 18, 2004
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page