Pokémon TCG: Sword and Shield—Brilliant Stars

Monarchy (Nidoking/queen) (needs speed, possible tech advice)

Status
Not open for further replies.

Shinigami

So, my first States is this weekend. I'm nervous and excited, to say the least. I finally got the final pieces of my deck last night after MONTHS of searching and digging through binders. Please be gentle, as this is my first States and I'm rather new to the TCG as a whole. On to the deck!

Pokemon- 25
4 Spiritomb AR
1 Azelf LA
2 Uxie LA
4 Nidoran M TM
2 Nidorino RR
3 Nidoking TM
1 Nidoking RR
3 Nidoran F TM
2 Nidorina TM
2 Nidoqueen RR
1 Nidoqueen TM

Trainer/Supporter/Stadium- 20
1 Luxury Ball
2 Warp Point
2 Super Scoop Up
2 Expert Belt
3 Rare Candy
1 Twins
2 Cynthia's Feelings
2 Bebe's Search
3 Pokemon Collector
2 Broken Time-Space

Energy- 15
5 Fighting Energy
4 Rainbow Energy
4 Double Colorless Energy
2 Rescue Energy

Basic Strategy: The deck is very straighforward. Get as many Nidoqueen and maybe Nidoking RR onto the bench as fast as possible with a Nidoking TM in the Active spot, preferably with an Expert Belt attached, and tank your way to victory. If that doesn't pan out, Nidoking RR and Nidoqueen RR are perfectly acceptable as attackers as well.

My choices: First, obviously, was the choice to play Monarchy at all. I realize that it's a very slow deck in a very fast format, but I like the flow and feel of the deck. As a newer player with a limited cardpool, I had to build something that stood at least a small chance while maintaining a budget and simplicity.

Rainbow Energy-I can't tell you how much this deck needs it. There's no real drawback (thanks, Maternal Comfort!), and it's extremely rare that I can't find a place to put it.

Super Scoop Up- This is in debate right now. I've never been a fan of helping my opponent out, which is why i don't run Seeker at the moment. But SSU is only a 50-50 shot, and I'm seriously considering switching over to Seeker for States.