Mr. Mime vs. Electivire

Discussion in 'Ask the Rules Team' started by Endoftime, Sep 16, 2007.

8 league13 468 60
  1. Endoftime

    Endoftime New Member

    Mr. Mime's Poke-Body says: If you're opponent's pokemon that has 2 or less energy cards
    attached to it attacks Mr. Mime, prevent all damage done to Mr. Mime from that attack. If Mime Jr.
    is anywhere under Mr. Mime, prevent all effects of that attack, including damage, done to Mr. Mime.

    My question is how this body works when the attacking Pokemon discards energy to do the attack.
    For example, Electivire from DP1's Giga Impact attack says: You may discard all [L] energy
    attached to Electivire. If you do, this attack's base damage is 120 instead of 60.

    The Electivire needs 4 energy to do the attack, so assuming they have more than 2 energy cards
    (not scramble or two Double Rainbow, etc.) they can do the attack, but if they choose to discard
    and change the base damage, which takes effect first, the damage or the body?
  2. PokePop

    PokePop Administrator

    You look before the discard is done.

Share This Page