New Rulings: Thanks for all the questions!

Discussion in 'Compendium Notices' started by bulbasnore, Aug 5, 2008.

  1. bulbasnore

    bulbasnore Administrator Staff Member Trader Feedback Mod

    The Rules Team wishes to thank all the members for the great questions. And PUI for the answers!

    Here are some answers! Some of these answers are relevant for Worlds, but many more are interesting as they help to define meta-rulings for the game, i.e. the way things work in the Pokemon TCG.

    The Rules Team has new rulings for:
    • Conversion/Frenzy Plant & levelling up
    • Psychic Lock vs. Phoenix Turn
    • Restore or Call for Family with full bench
    • Skill Copy & Spiteful Pain or PKMN with no attacks! or trying to discard and NOT use one of the attacks.
    • Power Cancel, explained in the flow of the game
    • Attaching Unown to a PKMN with a Tool on it already
    • Crystal Sharding your colorless Pokemon (for extra [DEL]coolness[/DEL] colorlessness)
    • Special Conditions and Levelling up (on p.22 of the MD Rule Book, but not online)
    • Copying Ascension to no avail vs. getting to search your deck
    • Holon Circle vs an impossible attack
    • Call for Family with 3 Eevee in discard
    • Check for Leaf Hurricane confusion before or after damage
     
  2. Muscovy Level X

    Muscovy Level X New Member

    Good to see the rulings up. :cool:
     
  3. charchar

    charchar New Member

    ahh, some of those i still had question about so thats nice...
     
  4. PkmnManiac

    PkmnManiac New Member

    So where are they added? THe Compendium?
     
  5. BJJ763

    BJJ763 Trading Mod Supervisor Staff Member Trader Feedback Mod

    Where is the summary? I really do not have time to search the Compendium looking for updates.
     
  6. bulbasnore

    bulbasnore Administrator Staff Member Trader Feedback Mod

    I had to do the summary by searching for Jul 10, 2008 and Jul 17, 2008.
     
  7. dtrain

    dtrain New Member

    Snore can you post the link for the updates?
     
  8. PkmnManiac

    PkmnManiac New Member

    Sorry, but how does that help us?

    Can't you just "cut and paste" the summaries into your post?
     
  9. PokemonSteve

    PokemonSteve New Member

    Got bored, so i did it:
    1)
    Q. If I use Torterra's "Frenzy Plant" this turn, can I use it again next turn if I level up to Torterra Lv.X?
    A. According to the rule book, leveling up a Pokemon removes all effects and status. So yes you would be able to use Frenzy Plant after leveling up to Torterra Lv.X. (Jul 10, 2008 PUI Rules Team)

    2)
    Q. If I knock out Ho-Oh with Gardevoir's "Psychic Lock" attack, does the disabling of Poke-Powers happen before or after Ho-Oh's "Phoenix Turn" Poke-POWER?
    A. Psychic Lock says they can't use any Poke-Powers "during your opponent's next turn". Phoenix Turn starts and finishes during the attack, before "your opponent's next turn," so Psychic Lock does not stop Phoenix Turn. (Jul 10, 2008 PUI Rules Team)

    3)
    Q. Can I use Garchomp Lv.X's "Restore" attack, even if I don't have an open spot on my Bench?
    A. Yes you could do the attack, but it would have no effect (other than perhaps to get rid of Holon Circle, etc.). (Jul 10, 2008 PUI Rules Team)

    4)
    Q. If I use Alakazam*'s "Skill Copy" attack and discard a Banette with "Spiteful Pain" on it, would it do 40 damage (before Banette is in the discard pile) or would it do 80 damage (after Banette is in the discard pile)?
    A. The discard is a requirement of the Skill Copy attack and takes place before the damage calculation. So Banette will be in the discard pile and Skill Copy will do 80 damage. (Jul 10, 2008 PUI Rules Team)

    Q. What happens if I use Alakazam*'s "Skill Copy" attack but discard a Pokemon that has no attacks on it (i.e. the Snorlax that only has a Poke-POWER and a Poke-BODY)?
    A. In this case the Pokemon would stay in the discard pile and nothing else happens. (Jul 17, 2008 PUI Rules Team)

    Q. Can I use Alakazam*'s "Skill Copy" attack to discard a Pokemon but then choose to not use one of its attacks?
    A. No, you must pick one of the discarded Pokemon's attacks and use it if you are able to. However, if you pick one of the attacks that you do not have the proper energy requirements for, the attack does nothing. (Jul 17, 2008 PUI Rules Team)

    Q. What happens if I use Alakazam*'s "Skill Copy" and pick an attack that cannot be completed, such as Shuppet's "Ascension" which has you search your deck for an evolution of that Pokemon?
    A. You may pick the "Ascension" attack in this scenario, but you would not get to search your deck because Alakazam* cannot evolve higher. Refer to the "Metronome" section for other possible scenarios that cannot be copied. (Jul 17, 2008 PUI Rules Team)

    5)
    Q. If I use a Poke-POWER that says something like "choose two of your opponent's benched Pokemon...", but the opponent has Alakazam with "Power Cancel" that can optionally negate my Poke-POWER, do they have to use "Power Cancel" before I declare which two Pokemon or can they wait until after that point?
    A. Power Cancel is tricky as it interrupts the typical flow of things. If you are activating the Poke-POWER described above, you may request whether or not the opponent wishes to "Power Cancel" it prior to declaring which two Benched Pokemon are being chosen. On the other hand, if you rushed through and said "I activate Power-XXX and choose these two Pokemon" before the opponent has had enough time to Power Cancel it, the opponent may still invoke the Power Cancel up until the Poke-POWER is deemed unrewindable (i.e. searching or shuffling deck, etc.). But once the opponent says they are not going to use Power Cancel, they cannot change their mind until the next Poke-POWER gets activated. (Jul 10, 2008 PUI Rules Team)

    6)
    Q. If I have one of the Unowns with a Poke-POWER that lets me attach it as a Tool, can I use it if there is already a Tool card attached?
    A. No, you cannot have more than one Tool attached to a Pokemon; therefore you could not use Unown's Poke-POWER to make it a second Tool card. (Jul 10, 2008 PUI Rules Team)

    7)
    Q. Can you attach Crystal Shard to a colorless Pokemon?
    A. Yes, you can. It may not change its type, but it does change the fact that it now has a Tool card attached to it. (Jul 10, 2008 PUI Rules Team)

    8)
    See Rule Book

    9)
    Q. What happens if I use Alakazam*'s "Skill Copy" and pick an attack that cannot be completed, such as Shuppet's "Ascension" which has you search your deck for an evolution of that Pokemon?
    A. You may pick the "Ascension" attack in this scenario, but you would not get to search your deck because Alakazam* cannot evolve higher. Refer to the "Metronome" section for other possible scenarios that cannot be copied. (Jul 17, 2008 PUI Rules Team)

    10)
    Q. If I announce an attack but cannot meet the energy requirements for that attack, is Holon Circle discarded or not?
    A. No, if you don't meet the energy requirements for the attack, you cannot discard the Holon Circle stadium. (Jul 17, 2008 PUI Rules Team)

    11)
    Q. Can I use Eevee's "Call for Family" to search through my deck if I already have four Eevee's in play or in the discard pile?
    A. Yes you could use Call for Family, because contents of a deck search cannot be deduced, even on the basis of public knowledge. As long as you meet the requirements to use an attack, you follow what it does (in this case, searching your deck). (Jul 17, 2008 PUI Rules

    12)
    Q. For Wormadam Plant Cloak's "Leaf Hurricane" attack, do you check the Defending Pokemon's remaning HP before or after doing damage?
    A. If the Defending Pokemon has fewer remaining HP *before doing damage*, then the Defending Pokemon is confused. (Jul 17, 2008 PUI Rules Team)
     
  10. mumsascrappa

    mumsascrappa Active Member

    Thanks for your boredom! You accomplished something productive and helpful!! Thanks for posting above. :thumb:
     
  11. Zyklon

    Zyklon New Member

    I can't say I am surprised with any of the rulings, but the Power Cancel one is pretty interesting, at least.
     
  12. dogma

    dogma New Member

    I don't understand the Power Cancel ruling. Can someone please explain it?
     
  13. JandPDS

    JandPDS New Member

    I believe that they are saying that if you have an Alakzaam in play and say your opponent announces plans to use the telepass power, you can block it from happening up until the point where they look though their deck (I.E. change the game state irreversibly) if you do not announce that you are blocking it by the time the deck had been picked up and searched through then it is too late to use it. For other powers like Shady Move where a damage is moved from one pokemon to the next, You can block it after the effect as been done because this is easily reversible. At least that is my understanding of the ruling.
     
  14. yoshi1001

    yoshi1001 New Member

    I have to heartily disagree with this ruling, as it sets an unfortunate precedent, in which the game knows (or at the very least chooses to know) only some of its rules. It's only a mattter of time before [DEL]I[/DEL] someone finds a way to abuse this loophole. :wink:
     
  15. Dragon100

    Dragon100 New Member

     
  16. ShadowCard

    ShadowCard Active Member

    Okay, I don't understand this ruling:
    when compared to this one:
    It is not just public knowledge, but a game rule that there cannot be more than 4 Pokemon of the same play in all of the player's 60 cards. This is not a case of the game's extremely-short-term memory resetting. It is also public knowledge and more or less a rule that Alakazam does not evolve. Instead, let's look at Steelix, a Stage 1, along with the potential to play Wally's Training on it. Steelix, being a Stage 1, has the possibility of being able to evolve (only stage 2 pokemon can't evolve any further). We only say you can't conduct the search because of public knowledge and/or game rules saying that Steelix does not evolve.

    How about booster drafts? Could I search my deck for an evolution card that does not exist in the set, but does exist in the game? Take, for example, the Sandstorm set, in which there was an Electabuzz as well as Wally's Training. Could I use Wally's Training on Electabuzz to search for a Electivire that doesn't exist? Or Emerald, with Wally's Training and Rhydon to search for Rhyperior that doesn't exist in the set?
     
  17. dogma

    dogma New Member

    Thanks. I completely misread that and was about to post saying how stupid that ruling is, but knew noone would make a ruling like that.

    The rulings seem to be fairly common sense, no real surprises
     
  18. EeveeLover

    EeveeLover Member Services Administrator

     
    Last edited: Aug 7, 2008
  19. PokemonSteve

    PokemonSteve New Member

    I think the reason why is that you COULD have more then 4 in the deck. For example 4 eevee's and 4 XXX's Eevees.
     
  20. yoshi1001

    yoshi1001 New Member

    The card says "as many Eevee" not "as many cards with Eevee in their name". So that doesn't work.

    Here's another example. Suppose I use Mr. Stone's Project and look through my discard pile, only to find there's no basic energy there. Am I stuck getting nothing? This ruling would seem to imply that's possible.
     

Share This Page