Ninetales DP2

Discussion in 'Cards: Strategy and Rulings Discussion' started by PkmnManiac, Sep 14, 2007.

8 league13 468 60
  1. PkmnManiac

    PkmnManiac New Member

    I was looking a the card and was wondering what good the Poke-Power is for.
     
  2. PkmnManiac

    PkmnManiac New Member

    So if they have a Lighting/Electric Active and a Water-type that is weak to Lightning/Electric, then Ninetales could....what?
     
  3. PokePop

    PokePop Administrator

    No, the other way around.
    If they have a Water type active and an Electric on the Bench.
     
  4. PkmnManiac

    PkmnManiac New Member

    Right, I knew that.

    So what happens, exactly?
     
  5. Magic_Umbreon

    Magic_Umbreon Researching Tower Scientist, Retired

    It is treated as the type you select. therefore any effect or ruling that refers to that type refers to Ninetales. If it becomes water, it will do the plus or minus damage associated with that type.

    If it became psychic, it could retreat for free with Phoebe's in play.

    IIRC Powers count as used for the turn as if they have been "tapped" and the game remembers but the game forgets the effects of those powers after being benched. If it is scooped up or in another way leaves the play area both effects and used powerws are forgotten. Could someone confirm this?

    (BTW by forgotten I mean they can be re-used as if they had not been used earlier. If a game must be traced back they obviously are remembered).
     
  6. PokePop

    PokePop Administrator

    You're confusing effects from powers with effects from attacks.
    Note that Ninetales Power can be used on the Bench, so moving him around has no effect on it.

    Yes, leaving play and coming back resets everthing
     
  7. neo phyte

    neo phyte New Member

    what about ninetales pk? if you got one on the bench and you got ninetales dp2 active, does the poke body from pk works on ninetales dp2 because it al so is a ninetales or does the body only works on ninetales pk?
     
  8. PokePop

    PokePop Administrator

    No. Whenever a Pokemon refers to itself, it is only referring to itself.
     
  9. neo phyte

    neo phyte New Member

    yeah oke, but the body reffers to ninetales and dp2 is al so a ninetales, or doesnt count that
     
  10. vanderbilt_grad

    vanderbilt_grad New Member

    Ninetails MT is suprisingly good against some decks. He really hurts multi-type decks like R-Gon or unlucky ones like Kingdra ex d who use Fearow d to set-up. He's not so hot against the mono type decks execpt to maybe overcome reistance.

    Salamance ex & Salamance ex d + their pre-evolves are the only thing fire reistant right now though I think.
     
  11. PokePop

    PokePop Administrator

    Itself means itself.
    Not another Pokemon that has the same name.
    Itself.
     
  12. pichuman

    pichuman New Member

    could it be possible to have a turn two ninetales deck?
     
  13. vanderbilt_grad

    vanderbilt_grad New Member

    IMHO it's not a good idea to play Ninetails MT without a Firestarter pokemon. Discarding energy on every attack makes it too hard to set up your next attacker as you attack with Tails. That hurts the T2 approach.
     
  14. MPressive

    MPressive New Member

    Ninetales is sooo much fun! My girlfriend wanted me to make her a tournament legal deck and wanted to use the ........ "pretty" Pokemon. Well I looked at them a whole bunch and that ninetales is really fun. Not the best card around, but fun. I am playing only one in the deck because it is a chance, butt also playing a PK one and 2 DF. It is helpful if you are playing against psychic too, or if they just so happen to be playing the opposite types. Then if you play lake boundary in the deck things can get fun.

    Not the most effective of strategies, but deffinitely can get interesting.
     

Share This Page