==Nov.20,2003 PUI Rules Team Meeting Rulings==

Discussion in 'Ask the Rules Team' started by Big Daddy Snorlax, Nov 21, 2003.

8 league13 468 60
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Big Daddy Snorlax

    Big Daddy Snorlax Administrator

    * November 20th 2003 PUI Rules Team Meeting -- (*) --
    xxxxxxxxx1xxxxxxxxx2xxxxxxxxx3xxxxxxxxx4xxxxxxxxx5xxxxxxxxx6xxxxxxxxx7xxxxxxxxx8


    ----------------------------------------------------------------------
    ERRATA
    ----------------------------------------------------------------------

    == MAGNEMITE (EX:Dragon)

    Q. I got a Reverse Holo Magnemite, and the resistance symbol is an empty white circle (like the colorless symbol without the star in the middle).
    A. It's just a grey circle (means nothing) where the foil is normally cut out for Resistance. However for clarification, there should not be any Resistance on that particular card - the non-foil of that version doesn't have a Resistance either. (Nov 20, 2003 PUI Rules Team)


    ----------------------------------------------------------------------
    POKEMON POWERS
    ----------------------------------------------------------------------

    == CALL FOR POWER (Dragonite EX - EX:Dragon)

    Q. Dragonite's EX Poke-Power says, "As often as you like during your turn, you may move an energy card from 1 of your pokemon to Dragonite EX." Since the typical phrase "Before your attack..." is missing, does this allow me to move energy even after the attack phase (i.e. before drawing a prize, etc.)?
    A. The phrase "before your attack" in cases like this is just reminder text. Per the rule book, once you have finished all steps of your attack, your turn is over. So no, you cannot move energy around after your attack. (Nov 20, 2003 PUI Rules Team)


    == CHAIN OF EVENTS (Plusle - EX:Dragon, Minun - EX:Dragon)

    Q. Just to clarify, "Chain of Events" on Plusle and Minun allows you to have two attacks in your turn??
    A. Chain of Events is considered a separate, second attack. It occurs immediately after the first attack is completely over, but before going to the end of the turn. (Nov 20, 2003 PUI Rules Team)


    == DRAGON WIND (Salamence - EX:Dragon)

    Q. For Salamence's "Dragon Wind", who chooses the Benched Pokemon, the attacker or the defender?
    A. The Active Player chooses which Benched Pokemon to switch, the opponent chooses which of their Defending Pokemon. (Nov 20, 2003 PUI Rules Team)


    == MAGNETIC FIELD (Magneton - EX:Dragon)

    Q. With EX:Dragon's Magneton, could you discard say a Lightning energy, and call it "#1", then if you have 2 other Lightning energies in your discard pile, "#2" and "#3", could you get those?
    A. As long as either of those cards are not the one you just discarded, you can retreive them even if they are the same type. (Nov 20, 2003 PUI Rules Team)


    == POWER PINCHERS (Crawdaunt - EX:Dragon)

    Q. Is Crawdaunt's Power Pinchers cumulative?
    A. Yes, but Crawdaunt must be Active in order for his power to work, so the only way it can be cumulative would be in 2-on-2 play. (Nov 20, 2003 PUI Rules Team)


    == SHIFT (Venomoth - Jungle)

    Q. Suppose that Kecleon has a Fire Energy and a Lightning Energy attached to it. Can Venomoth (Jungle) use Kecleon as a reference to Shift into a Fire or Lightning type?
    A. Sure. (Nov 20, 2003 PUI Rules Team)


    ----------------------------------------------------------------------
    POKEMON ATTACKS
    ----------------------------------------------------------------------

    == DRAGON CRUSH (Gyarados - EX:Dragon)

    Q. For Gyarados' "Dragon Crush" attack, do you get to discard the Defending Pokemon's energy cards regardless of the outcome of the coin flip? Or do you only discard energy if the coin flip is heads?
    A. The energy is only discarded if the coin flip is heads. (Nov 20, 2003 PUI Rules Team)


    == DRAGON DANCE (Altaria - EX:Dragon)

    Q. Altaria's Dragon Dance says: "During your next turn, if any of your current Active Pokemon does damage to any Defending Pokemon, that attack does 40 more damage." I thought that this meant that if Altaria retreated, then the effect is off (in single play). However, a judge at a recent tourney ruled that the effect stayed if Altaria was benched. Could you please clarify the ruling for me?
    A. The reason it is worded this way is for the purposes of 2-on-2 Play; with 2-on-2, if Altaria is benched the second active still retains the Dragon Dance effect. Likewise, if the second active is benched, it would lose the Dragon Dance effect but Altaria would still retain it. However, in normal 1-on-1 play, Altaria is the only Active Pokemon, so the effect would go away when Altaria is benched. (Nov 20, 2003 PUI Rules Team)


    == INFLUENCE (Lileep - EX:Sandstorm)

    Q. Can you use Lileep's "Influence" attack to pull an Aerodactyl-EX from your deck?
    A. No, the cards "Aerodactyl" and "Aerodactyl-EX" are considered different pokemon, much like the "Dark" Pokemon from earlier sets. So you cannot use Influence to search for an Aerodactyl-EX. (Nov 20, 2003 PUI Rules Team)


    == MOUNTAIN EATER (Larvitar - Skyridge)

    Q. If you don't have any damage counters on Larvitar when it does "Mountain Eater", does the attack fail because you cannot remove any damage?
    A. No, the removal of damage is not a requirement of being able to do the attack. However, if you do have any damage counters on Larvitar, then you MUST remove one if you perform this attack; it is not an optional action. (Nov 20, 2003 PUI Rules Team)


    ----------------------------------------------------------------------
    TRAINER CARDS
    ----------------------------------------------------------------------

    == HIGH PRESSURE SYSTEM (EX:Dragon)

    Q. If Kecleon has a basic Fire energy card and a basic Water energy card attached, and a High Pressure System is in play, would Kecleon's retreat cost be reduced by two?
    A. Well, no Pokemon's retreat cost can ever be less than zero. But to clarify, High Pressure System only allows a maximum reduction of one energy, regardless of how many "colors" a Pokemon may be. (Nov 20, 2003 PUI Rules Team)


    == LOW PRESSURE SYSTEM (EX:Dragon)

    Q. If Kecleon has a basic Lightning energy card and a basic Grass energy card attached, and a Low Pressure System is in play, would Kecleon get +10hp or +20hp?
    A. Sorry, you only get +10 maximum regardless of how many "colors" Kecleon is. (Nov 20, 2003 PUI Rules Team)


    == WALLY'S TRAINING (EX:Sandstorm)

    Q. Can I use Wally's Training on the first turn of a game (when Pokemon are not normally allowed to evolve)?
    A. No. There is nothing in the card that allows it to break this rule. Nothing evolves on the first turn of the game! [NOTE: The Giovanni trainer card is a rare exception that specifically permits an evolution on the first turn.] (Sep 11, 2003 PUI Rules Team Meeting)


    ----------------------------------------------------------------------
    TWO ON TWO GAMEPLAY
    ----------------------------------------------------------------------

    == DRAGON DANCE (Altaria - EX:Dragon)

    Q. Altaria's Dragon Dance says: "During your next turn, if any of your current Active Pokemon does damage to any Defending Pokemon, that attack does 40 more damage." I thought that this ment that if Altaria retreated, then the effect is off (in single play). However, a judge at a recent tourney ruled that the effect stayed if Altaria was benched. Could you please clarify the ruling for me?
    A. The reason it is worded this way is for the purposes of 2-on-2 Play; with 2-on-2, if Altaria is benched the second active still retains the Dragon Dance effect. Likewise, if the second active is benched, it would lose the Dragon Dance effect but Altaria would still retain it. However, in normal 1-on-1 play, Altaria is the only Active Pokemon, so the effect would go away when Altaria is benched. (Nov 20, 2003 PUI Rules Team)


    == POWER PINCHERS (Crawdaunt - EX:Dragon)

    Q. Is Crawdaunt's Power Pinchers cumulative?
    A. Yes, but Crawdaunt must be Active in order for his power to work, so the only way it can be cumulative would be in 2-on-2 play. (Nov 20, 2003 PUI Rules Team)

    xxxxxxxxx1xxxxxxxxx2xxxxxxxxx3xxxxxxxxx4xxxxxxxxx5xxxxxxxxx6xxxxxxxxx7xxxxxxxxx8
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page