==Oct.16,2003 PUI Rules Team Meeting Rulings==

Discussion in 'Ask the Rules Team' started by Sensei, Oct 17, 2003.

8 league13 468 60
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Sensei

    Sensei Team Compendium Emeritus Staff Member Trader Feedback Mod

    Hey all,heres the Oct. 16th Rules meeting rulings for ya just in time for the weekend.Enjoy!

    `Sensei
    -------------

    xxxxxxxxx1xxxxxxxxx2xxxxxxxxx3xxxxxxxxx4xxxxxxxxx5xxxxxxxxx6xxxxxxxxx7xxxxxxxxx8


    This edition of the Rulings Compendium includes:

    |
    |
    |
    * October 9th 2003 -- MEETING CANCELLED
    * October 16th 2003 PUI Rules Team Meeting -- (*) --


    xxxxxxxxx1xxxxxxxxx2xxxxxxxxx3xxxxxxxxx4xxxxxxxxx5xxxxxxxxx6xxxxxxxxx7xxxxxxxxx8


    ----------------------------------------------------------------------
    ERRATA
    ----------------------------------------------------------------------


    ----------------------------------------------------------------------
    POKEMON POWERS
    ----------------------------------------------------------------------

    == POKEMON POWERS IN GENERAL

    Q. Something that affect Pokemon Powers in general, affects both
    "Poke-Powers" and "Poke-Bodies", right? So also, does something that affects
    both "Poke-Bodies" and "Poke-Powers" affect older style "Pokemon
    Powers" too?
    A. Pokemon Powers are the general term for Poke-Bodies & Poke-Powers.
    Older cards that reference Pokemon Powers include both 'Bodies and
    'Powers. Newer cards that affect both 'Powers AND 'Bodies affect older
    "Pokemon Powers" (as if "Pokemon Powers" read "Poke-Powers & Poke-Bodies").
    (Oct 16, 2003 PUI Rules Team)


    == PSY SHADOW (Gardevoir - EX:Ruby/Sapphire)

    Q. Is Gardevoir's Poke-Power cumulative? Like, if you have 3 in play,
    can you attach 3 [P] Energy cards, and still have your "free" energy
    attachment for the turn?
    A. Yes, Gardevoir's "Psy Shadow" is cumulative. (Oct 16, 2003 PUI Rules
    Team)

    Q. What is the proper thing to do if you use Gardevoir's "Psy Shadow"
    Poke-Power, and there are no psychic energies left in the deck? Do you
    still take the damage for searching through your deck, or do you NOT
    take damage for NOT attaching an energy?
    A. Since you did not place a Psychic Energy on any Pokemon, you cannot
    place any damage counters. You might want to, but you cannot. (Oct 16,
    2003 PUI Rules Team)


    == WATER CALL (Swampert - EX:Ruby/Sapphire)

    Q. Is holo Swampert's Poke-Power cumulative? Like, if you have 3 in
    play, can you attach 3 [W] Energy cards to your active Pokemon, and still
    have your "free" energy attachment for the turn?
    A. Yes, Swampert's "Water Call" is cumulative. (Oct 16, 2003 PUI Rules
    Team)


    ----------------------------------------------------------------------
    POKEMON ATTACKS
    ----------------------------------------------------------------------

    == STRIKE AND RUN (Dunsparce - EX:Sandstorm)

    Q. Can you use attacks like Dunsparce's "Strike and Run" to search for
    a Fossil trainer?
    A. No. Fossil Trainer cards are only considered Basic Pokemon while in
    play, or in the special situation of starting the game. You cannot
    search your deck for them as if they were Pokemon. (Oct 16, 2003 PUI Rules
    Team)


    == TEAM ASSEMBLY (Kabuto & Omanyte - EX:Sandstorm)

    Q. Since "Team Assembly" has the phrase "...or any Basic Pokemon", does
    that mean that I don't have to search for Omanyte or Kabuto and can
    only pick Basic Pokemon?
    A. Yes, that is correct. (Oct 16, 2003 PUI Rules Team)


    ----------------------------------------------------------------------
    TRAINER CARDS
    ----------------------------------------------------------------------

    == CLAW FOSSIL (EX:Sandstorm) [See also "ROOT FOSSIL" and "MYSTERIOUS
    FOSSIL"]

    Q. Can you use trainers like "Pokemon Fan Club" or attacks like
    Dunsparce's "Strike and Run" to search for a Fossil trainer?
    A. No. Fossil Trainer cards are only considered Basic Pokemon while in
    play, or in the special situation of starting the game. You cannot
    search your deck for them as if they were Pokemon. (Oct 16, 2003 PUI Rules
    Team)


    == CLEFAIRY DOLL (Base Set)

    Q. It has been ruled in EX:Sandstorm that the various Fossils can be
    placed during setup just like a real Basic Pokemon. My question is, does
    Clefairy Doll, which uses the same mechanics as Mysterious Fossil, also
    count?
    A. At the current time, only the Fossil Trainer cards are played as
    explicitly stated in the EX Sandstorm rulebook; there is no such provision
    for Clefairy Doll. There is a universal rule being applied to Fossil
    Trainers. (Oct 16, 2003 PUI Rules Team)


    == MYSTERIOUS FOSSIL (Fossil Expansion; Legendary Collection;
    EX:Sandstorm) [See also "CLAW FOSSIL" and "ROOT FOSSIL"]

    Q. Can you use trainers like "Pokemon Fan Club" or attacks like
    Dunsparce's "Strike and Run" to search for a Fossil trainer?
    A. No. Fossil Trainer cards are only considered Basic Pokemon while in
    play, or in the special situation of starting the game. You cannot
    search your deck for them as if they were Pokemon. (Oct 16, 2003 PUI Rules
    Team)


    == POKEMON FAN CLUB (Aquapolis Expansion)

    Q. Can you use trainers like "Pokemon Fan Club" to search for a Fossil
    trainer?
    A. No. Fossil Trainer cards are only considered Basic Pokemon while in
    play, or in the special situation of starting the game. You cannot
    search your deck for them as if they were Pokemon. (Oct 16, 2003 PUI Rules
    Team)


    == RARE CANDY (EX:Sandstorm)

    Q. Can I use Rare Candy on a Pokémon I just evolved that turn with
    Wally's Training?
    A. No you cannot, because Rare Candy can only evolve Basic Pokemon. If
    you evolved a Pokemon with Wally's Training it would not be a Basic any
    more. (Oct 16, 2003 PUI Rules Team)

    ***** PREVIOUS RULING: THIS ONE HAS SINCE BEEN OVERRULED; See Above
    *****
    Q. Can I use Rare Candy on a Pokémon I just evolved that turn with
    Wally's Training?
    A. Yes. Trainer cards that allow an evolution to take place, breaks
    the standard evolution rule that states you can only evolve once in a
    turn. (Sep 26, 2003 PUI Rules Team)


    Q. Can you use Rare Candy to evolve a Mysterious Fossil into an Omastar
    or Kabutops, or use it on a Root/Claw Fossil to evolve into
    Cradily/Armaldo?
    A. It can. It counts as a basic Pokémon while in play. Omastar,
    Kabutops, Cradily, and Armaldo are Stage 2 Pokemon; you could use Rare Candy
    on the Fossil trainer to skip to them. (Oct 16, 2003 PUI Rules Team)


    == ROOT FOSSIL (EX:Sandstorm) [See also "CLAW FOSSIL" and "MYSTERIOUS
    FOSSIL"]

    Q. Can you use trainers like "Pokemon Fan Club" or attacks like
    Dunsparce's "Strike and Run" to search for a Fossil trainer?
    A. No. Fossil Trainer cards are only considered Basic Pokemon while in
    play, or in the special situation of starting the game. You cannot
    search your deck for them as if they were Pokemon. (Oct 16, 2003 PUI Rules
    Team)


    ----------------------------------------------------------------------
    ENERGY CARDS
    ----------------------------------------------------------------------

    == BOOST ENERGY (Aquapolis Expansion)

    Q. Can I play a Boost Energy on an "Evolved" Basic Pokemon (such as a
    Wobbuffet that has evolved from Wynaut)?
    A. Yes, you can. It states on Boost Energy you can only play it on
    Evolved Pokemon and Wobuffet is considered an "Evolved" Pokemon in this
    case. (Oct 16, 2003 PUI Rules Team)


    ----------------------------------------------------------------------
    GENERAL GAMEPLAY
    ----------------------------------------------------------------------

    == SPECIAL CONDITIONS / STATUS EFFECTS / EFFECTS OF ATTACKS

    Q. In the new Tournament rules, it is said that when time is called,
    the active player is allowed to finish his or her turn. After this, do
    players still check for Burn, Poison, and other relevant Special
    Conditions, or is the game over before the Special Conditions can take place?
    A. When time is called, the end of the game would trigger at the end of
    the current player's turn after resolving all of the effects that occur
    during that player's turn, but before addressing any actions that
    happen between turns such as Special Conditions. (Oct 16, 2003 PUI Rules
    Team)


    == STARTING THE GAME

    Q. In a sanctioned Tournament, does the player going second have to show his hand in the event they have no Basics at the start of the game? The Floor Rules don't explicitly say that they have to.
    A. Yes, you still reveal your hand before you shuffle it back into your deck. The rules from the rulebook still apply unless specifically stated otherwise. (Oct 16, 2003 PUI Rules Team)

    Q. If you have a basic and one or more fossil cards, can you treat any
    or all fossils in your opening hand as Basic Pokemon?
    A. Yes, you can start the game with a Fossil Trainer card as your
    Active Pokemon, and put a normal Basic Pokemon on your Bench (or
    vice-versa). (Oct 16, 2003 PUI Rules Team)

    Q. If you have basic and fossil pokemon in your hand at startup, can
    you choose to play only the fossils and not the basic?
    A. Yes. You can play "just" the Fossil Trainer cards, if you wish. (Oct
    16, 2003 PUI Rules Team)


    ----------------------------------------------------------------------
    TWO ON TWO GAMEPLAY
    ----------------------------------------------------------------------

    == ATTACKING

    Q. In 2-on-2 Play, if one of the Defending pokemon is a Baby Pokemon
    with the "Baby Rule" printed on it (not one of the newer ones with the
    "Baby Evolution" Poke-Power), would the attacker have to flip a coin
    regardless of which of the Defending Pokemon they are attacking? Or would
    they only have to flip when attacking the Baby Pokemon?
    A. It only counts if the Baby Pokemon itself is attacked. (Oct 16, 2003
    PUI Rules Team)

    Q. In 2-on-2 Play, if both of the Defending pokemon are Baby Pokemon
    with the "Baby Rule" printed on it (not one of the newer ones with the
    "Baby Evolution" Poke-Power), would the attacker have to flip two coins
    in order to attack (one for each baby)?
    A. No, you would only have to flip only one coin. (Oct 16, 2003 PUI
    Rules Team)

    Q. In 2-on-2 Play, if you are facing two babies and you use an attack
    that does something to BOTH Defenders, do you have to flip twice, once
    for each Baby?
    A. When you attack, you choose a single Defending Pokemon to attack.
    Even if the attack says "each". So you would only have to flip once. (Oct
    16, 2003 PUI Rules Team)


    ----------------------------------------------------------------------
    TEAM GAMEPLAY
    ----------------------------------------------------------------------


    xxxxxxxxx1xxxxxxxxx2xxxxxxxxx3xxxxxxxxx4xxxxxxxxx5xxxxxxxxx6xxxxxxxxx7xxxxxxxxx8
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page