==Oct.2,2003 PUI Rules Team Meeting Rulings== UPDATE!

Discussion in 'Ask the Rules Team' started by Sensei, Oct 2, 2003.

8 league13 468 60
  1. Sensei

    Sensei Team Compendium Emeritus Staff Member Trader Feedback Mod

    Hey everyone,I`ll post a copy of the rulings from the meeting right here for ya so you don`t have to wait for them to go up on the Compendium.Not too much this week and Jimmer wasn`t feeling all that well with a migraine.

    Have fun and enjoy!

    `Sensei
    ---------------------


    Q. Does "Baby Evolution" override evolution-preventing effects such as Fossil Aerodactyl's "Prehistoric Power"?
    A. Yes. Baby Evolution is not a standard evolution for a Pokemon, so Fossil Aerodactyl's "Prehistoric Power" does not prevent that.(Oct 2,2003 PUI Rules Team Meeting)


    Q. My opponent has a R/S Dustox active (or on the bench); I play a Sandstorm Omastar and use Pull Down; does this attack effect Dustox or not?
    A. No. Dustox's Protective Dust prevents all effects done to Dustox, by the opponent's Attacking Pokemon - this woud include Omastar's Pull down.(Oct 2,2003 PUI Rules Team Meeting)


    Q. In 2-on-2 Play, does Cradily's "Super Suction Cups" power apply to both of the opponent's Pokemon, or do you have to designate one of them?
    A. Cradily's Poke-Power affects each of your opponent's Active Pokemon, in 2-on-2 Battle.(Oct 2,2003 PUI Rules Team Meeting)


    Q. At the beginning of the game, can I start with a Mysterious/Claw/Root Fossil as my Active Pokemon even if I have another "real" pokemon on the bench?
    A. Yes, you can start with a Fossil Trainer card as your Active Pokemon, at the start of the game.(Oct 2,2003 PUI Rules Team Meeting)


    Q. Does Kecleon lose it's Colorless type, when it has any kind of basic Energy card on it?
    A. Yes. Kecleon may become multiple types, based on the variety of basic Energy attached to, however, it loses it's Colorless trait after the first basic Energy card.(Oct 2,2003 PUI Rules Team Meeting
     
    Last edited: Oct 3, 2003
  2. Sensei

    Sensei Team Compendium Emeritus Staff Member Trader Feedback Mod

    Hey everyone,we were able to get some rulings back from Japan and include them and also Chrisbo has included the past rulings that haven`t been uploaded to the Compendium yet.Here is the updated rulings so everyone can have them before the weekend.Enjoy! :)

    `Sensei

    ------------

    ----------------------------------------------------------------------
    POKEMON POWERS
    ----------------------------------------------------------------------

    == BABY EVOLUTION (several - EX:Sandstorm)

    Q. Does "Baby Evolution" override evolution-preventing effects such as
    Fossil Aerodactyl's "Prehistoric Power"?
    A. Yes. Baby Evolution is not a standard evolution for a Pokemon, so
    Fossil Aerodactyl's "Prehistoric Power" does not prevent that. (Oct 2,
    2003 PUI Rules Team)


    == ENERGY VARIATION (Kecleon - EX:Sandstorm)

    Q. Does Kecleon lose its Colorless type, when it has any kind of basic
    Energy card on it?
    A. Yes. Kecleon may become multiple types based on the variety of basic
    Energy attached to it; however, it loses its Colorless trait after the
    first basic Energy card. (Oct 2, 2003 PUI Rules Team)

    ***** PREVIOUS RULING: THIS ONE HAS SINCE BEEN OVERRULED; See Above
    *****
    Q. If Fire and Grass Basic Energy Cards are attached to Kecleon is it
    now considered a Fire, Grass, and Colorless Type Pokemon, or is it only
    a Fire and Grass Type Pokemon? This is an important question due to
    cards such as Sprout Tower, Unown N, and the as yet unreleased Japanese
    Dragon Pokemon that are weak to Colorless Pokemon.
    A. Kecleon keeps its original type, in addition to whatever Energy
    cards are attached to it; it doesn't say that it REPLACES the type. (Sep
    25, 2003 PUI Rules Team Meeting)


    Q. If the Energy on Kecleon is altered in some way, does Kecleon look
    at the original energy card or what it's been changed into? For
    example, if you somehow changed Fire to Darkness, would Kecleon be a
    Darkness-type Pokémon instead of a Fire-type?
    A. Kecleon looks at what the Energy card has been changed into. (Sep
    26, 2003 PUI Rules Team)

    ***** PREVIOUS RULING: THIS ONE HAS SINCE BEEN CLARIFIED; See Above
    *****
    Q. If you use Porygon2's "Energy Converter" Pokémon Power to change a
    basic Energy card attached to Kecleon to another type, will Kecleon be
    that type (as well as other types for other basic Energy) for that turn
    according to the wording on the powers of both Kecleon and Porygon2?
    (For example, if you change Fire to Darkness, would Kecleon be a Darkness
    Pokémon until Porygon2's power wears off?)
    A. We're checking with Japan on this one. Play it similar to the old
    WOTC rulings regarding Porygon2 and Ho-Oh's "Rainbow Burn" for now. (Sep
    18, 2003 PUI Rules Team Meeting)


    == GLOWING SCREEN (Illumise - EX:Sandstorm)

    Q. Illumise's "Glowing Screen" power says "As long as Volbeat is in
    play..." Does this count for ANY Volbeat (yours or opponent's) or only
    your own?
    A. No. There was an error in translation that left it vague - a player
    must have both of them in play on their side, to use those Poké-Powers.
    (Sep 26, 2003 PUI Rules Team)


    == LUNAR ECLIPSE (Lunatone - EX:Sandstorm)

    Q. Lunatone's "Lunar Eclipse" power says "If Solrock is in play..."
    Does this count for ANY Solrock (yours or opponent's) or only your own?
    A. No. There was an error in translation that left it vague - a player
    must have both of them in play on their side, to use those Poké-Powers.
    (Sep 26, 2003 PUI Rules Team)


    == PROTECTIVE DUST (Dustox - EX:Ruby/Sapphire)

    Q. My opponent has a R/S Dustox active (or on the bench); I play a
    Sandstorm Omastar and use Pull Down; does this attack effect Dustox or not?
    A. No. Dustox's Protective Dust prevents all effects done to Dustox by
    the opponent’s Attacking Pokemon; this would include Omastar’s Pull
    Down. (Oct 2, 2003 PUI Rules Team)


    == SOLAR ECLIPSE (Solrock - EX:Sandstorm)

    Q. Solrock's "Solar Eclipse" power says "If Lunatone is in play..."
    Does this count for ANY Lunatone (yours or opponent's) or only your own?
    A. No. There was an error in translation that left it vague - a player
    must have both of them in play on their side, to use those Poké-Powers.
    (Sep 26, 2003 PUI Rules Team)


    == SUPER SUCTION CUPS (Cradily - EX:Sandstorm)

    Q. In 2-on-2 Play, does Cradily's "Super Suction Cups" power apply to
    both of the opponent's Pokemon, or do you have to designate one of them?
    A. Cradily's Poke-Power affects each of your opponent's Active Pokemon
    in 2-on-2 Battle.


    == UPLIFTING GLOW (Volbeat - EX:Sandstorm)

    Q. Volbeat's "Uplifting Glow" power says "As long as Illumise is in
    play..." Does this count for ANY Illumise (yours or opponent's) or only
    your own?
    A. No. There was an error in translation that left it vague - a player
    must have both of them in play on their side, to use those Poké-Powers.
    (Sep 26, 2003 PUI Rules Team)


    ----------------------------------------------------------------------
    POKEMON ATTACKS
    ----------------------------------------------------------------------


    ----------------------------------------------------------------------
    TRAINER CARDS
    ----------------------------------------------------------------------

    == CLAW FOSSIL (EX:Sandstorm) [See also "ROOT FOSSIL" and "MYSTERIOUS
    FOSSIL"]

    Q. At the beginning of the game, can I start with a
    Mysterious/Claw/Root Fossil as my Active Pokemon even if I have another "real" pokemon on
    the bench?
    A. Yes, you can start with a Fossil Trainer card as your Active
    Pokemon, at the start of the game. (Oct 2, 2003 PUI Rules Team)


    == MYSTERIOUS FOSSIL (Fossil Expansion; Legendary Collection;
    EX:Sandstorm) [See also "CLAW FOSSIL" and "ROOT FOSSIL"]

    Q. At the beginning of the game, can I start with a
    Mysterious/Claw/Root Fossil as my Active Pokemon even if I have another "real" pokemon on
    the bench?
    A. Yes, you can start with a Fossil Trainer card as your Active
    Pokemon, at the start of the game. (Oct 2, 2003 PUI Rules Team)


    == RARE CANDY (EX:Sandstorm)

    Q. Can I use Rare Candy or Wally’s Training on a Pokémon that has
    already evolved normally that turn?
    A. Yes. Rare Candy and Wally’s Training can break the rules for normal
    evolution in that case. They also can allow a player to evolve a
    Pokémon the first turn it is in play, except for the very first turn of the
    game (for each player). In order for Rare Candy and Wally’s Training to
    break the "first turn of the game" evolution, the card would have to
    specifically say so. (Sep 26, 2003 PUI Rules Team)

    Q. Can I use Rare Candy on a Pokémon I just evolved that turn with
    Wally’s Training?
    A. Yes. Trainer cards that allow an evolution to take place, breaks the
    standard evolution rule that states you can only evolve once in a turn.
    (Sep 26, 2003 PUI Rules Team)

    Q. I evolved Torchic into Combusken using Rare Candy. Can I then do my
    "regular" evolution for Combusken into Blaziken?
    A. No. "(This counts as evolving that Pokémon)" means that it counts as
    a normal evolution in this case. (Sep 26, 2003 PUI Rules Team)

    Q. What does "This counts as evolving that Pokémon" mean, in game
    terms?
    A. It counts towards the one evolution per turn for that Pokémon (with
    exceptions for Trainers and Pokémon Powers that break that rule) and
    removes Special Conditions on that Pokémon. (Sep 26, 2003 PUI Rules Team)


    == ROOT FOSSIL (EX:Sandstorm) [See also "CLAW FOSSIL" and "MYSTERIOUS
    FOSSIL"]

    Q. At the beginning of the game, can I start with a
    Mysterious/Claw/Root Fossil as my Active Pokemon even if I have another "real" pokemon on
    the bench?
    A. Yes, you can start with a Fossil Trainer card as your Active
    Pokemon, at the start of the game. (Oct 2, 2003 PUI Rules Team)


    == WALLY'S TRAINING (EX:Sandstorm)

    Q. Can I use Rare Candy or Wally’s Training on a Pokémon that has
    already evolved normally that turn?
    A. Yes. Rare Candy and Wally’s Training can break the rules for normal
    evolution in that case. They also can allow a player to evolve a
    Pokémon the first turn it is in play, except for the very first turn of the
    game (for each player). In order for Rare Candy and Wally’s Training to
    break the "first turn of the game" evolution, the card would have to
    specifically say so. (Sep 26, 2003 PUI Rules Team)

    Q. Can I use Wally’s Training on a Pokémon I just evolved that turn
    with Rare Candy?
    A. Yes. Trainer cards that allow an evolution to take place, breaks the
    standard evolution rule that states you can only evolve once in a turn.
    (Sep 26, 2003 PUI Rules Team)

    Q. I evolved Torchic into Combusken using Wally's Training. Can I then
    do my "regular" evolution for Combusken into Blaziken?
    A. No. "(This counts as evolving that Pokémon)" means that it counts as
    a normal evolution in this case. (Sep 26, 2003 PUI Rules Team)

    Q. What does "This counts as evolving that Pokémon" mean, in game
    terms?
    A. It counts towards the one evolution per turn for that Pokémon (with
    exceptions for Trainers and Pokémon Powers that break that rule) and
    removes Special Conditions on that Pokémon. (Sep 26, 2003 PUI Rules Team)
     

Share This Page