In a recent discussion, someone maintained that the "Painful Swords" attack of Aegislash (XY: BREAKpoint 62/122) could bypass the protection offered to Benched Pokémon by the "Daunting Pose" Ability of Machoke (SM: Guardians Rising 64/145). The justification was that the word "double" in "Double the number of damage counters on each of your opponent’s Pokémon." doesn't count as placing damage counters. I find this dubious but failed to find a concrete ruling. On a related matter, what happens when something like the "Ear Influence" attack of Meowstic (XY: Flashfire 43/106; Generations RC15/RC32) collides with similar protective effects? Is "moving" a damage counter the same as "placing" it, at least with respect to the protection offered by something like Daunting Pose?