Pay Retreat Cost From Hand?

Discussion in 'Ask the Rules Team' started by Clueless in Seattle, Mar 15, 2008.

8 league13 468 60
  1. Clueless in Seattle

    Clueless in Seattle New Member

    This morning at Pokemon League a player didn't have any energy cards on his active Pokemon, but he retreated anyway, paying the retreat cost with Energy cards he had in his hand.

    The rulebooks says: "To retreat your Active Pokemon. you must discard one Energy from it for each :colorless for it's Retreat Cost."

    It seems to me that in regard to this question, the key words in that rule are "from it," i.e. the Energy must be discarded from cards already attached to the Active Pokemon, not from cards held in the players hand.

    I was in an easygoing mood so I just told the player that I thought he was probably mistaken but let him go ahead and pay the retreat cost from his hand anyway.

    So, I'm wondering, am I misreading the rule on paying retreat costs. Can you really pay a retreat cost using Energy cards you are holding in your hand?
     
    Last edited: Feb 25, 2009
  2. PokePop

    PokePop Administrator

    You were right. It has to be from the Pokemon retreating.
     
  3. Big Daddy Snorlax

    Big Daddy Snorlax Administrator

    Retreat Cost MUST be paid by discarding Energy attached to the Pokemon that is retreating.

    BDS
     

Share This Page