Poke-Powers and Evolving Questions, oh my!

Discussion in 'Cards: Strategy and Rulings Discussion' started by Formula Nine, Feb 26, 2008.

  1. Formula Nine

    Formula Nine New Member

    (If this is the wrong forum, please move. Thanks! :D )

    When a Poke-Power says "Once during your turn..." , does that mean you can only use it once, regardless of how many copies of that Power you have on the field? Can you use Powers even when they are on the Beach?

    Also, when you play a Basic, can you immediately evolve it? (Or does the Pokemon get "evolving sickness", and get evolve until at least a turn or more later?)
     
  2. Rai

    Rai <a href="http://pokegym.net/forums/showpost.php?p=

    http://pokegym.net/forums/showpost.php?p=1041364&postcount=3

    That answers your power question, hopefully rather clearly.

    And yes, there is an "Evolving sickness" if you will whenever you play a basic or an evolution, or even to level up. Always wait a turn after a card hits the table to play another one on top of it, unless a card effect says otherwise (IE: you can normal evolve then use Metapod's power. But you can't use Caterpie's power and evolve into Metapod, then regularly evolve into Butterfree in the same turn)
     
  3. Formula Nine

    Formula Nine New Member

    Ah, thank you. That was very clear. :)

    Also, added something in the original post a bit last second.

    "Can you use Powers even when they are on the Beach?"
     
  4. PokePop

    PokePop Administrator

    Yes, unless the power specifically says that the Pokemon has to be Active.
    Some do say that.
     
  5. ShadowTogetic

    ShadowTogetic New Member

    I thought they have to be in play to use it, not on a vacation tanning under the sun.

    OH, the BENCH
     
  6. Rai

    Rai <a href="http://pokegym.net/forums/showpost.php?p=

    Well, Crystal Beach doesn't shut off any pokepowers (only special energies), so most pokemon should be to use their pokepowers on it...

    If the card doesn't say that it has to be active, then it can be used on the bench, yes. Heck, there are some powers (Such as Pelipper delta from Crystal Guardians) which can ONLY be used on the beach while reclining on a bench.
     
  7. chriscobi634

    chriscobi634 New Member

  8. Rai

    Rai <a href="http://pokegym.net/forums/showpost.php?p=

    IIRC, no. Magmortar LV.X's Flame Bluster places an effect onto Magmortar, saying that you can't use Flame Bluster during the next turn.

    There is no such effect placed onto a pokemon who uses a power. Hitting the bench won't change any limitations on the pokemon, that card used it's power that turn.

    NOW, let's say we have something like... Oh, I don't know, how about Chimecho delta (Holon Phantoms) in play. You lay down Holon Mentor. Okay, we get to use Delta Support (Chimecho's power) now. Next, if we were to use Super Scoop Up to bring Chimecho back into the hand, and then play it onto the bench, can we use Delta Support again?

    Answer is Yes (Assuming I'm recalling those rulings correctly). The return a card into your hand then play it back onto the table technique is how you override the "Once during your turn..." clause (unless it's like Gardevoir's Telepass, where it specifically references the power's name).
     
  9. NoPoke

    NoPoke New Member

    Even though a Pokémon has visited the bench it remains the same Pokémon.

    (love the beach by the way)

    Visiting the bench clears (almost all) effects. However using a once per turn power is not an effect.
     

Share This Page