POKEMON ATTACK == Pelippers Swallow and Claw Fossil

Discussion in 'Ask the Rules Team' started by Rabid Raichu, Sep 16, 2003.

8 league13 468 60
  1. Rabid Raichu

    Rabid Raichu New Member

    Text on Pelippers "Swallow" attack:
    After your attack, remove from Pelipper the number of damage counters equal to the damage you did to the Defending Pokemon. If Pelipper has fewer damage counters than that, remove all of them.

    Text on Claw Fossils "Jagged Stone" Poke-Body:
    If Claw Fossil is your Active Pokemon and is damaged by an opponents attack (even if Claw Fossil is Knocked Out), put 1 damage counter on the Attacking Pokemon.


    Q: Considering the wording of Pelippers attack, does the damage on Pelipper get removed BEFORE or AFTER Claw Fossils "Jagged Stone" Poke-Body damages Pelipper? Jagged Stone places 1 damage counter on Pelipper as a result of Pelippers attack (at the end of the attack resolution as I read it), then the text of Swallow says AFTER the attack (implying that the attack has been completely resolved) remove damage counters from Pelipper. How should we interpret this situation?
     

Share This Page