Poliwrath Focus Punch and Bench

Discussion in 'Ask the Rules Team' started by Naki Feralkin, Aug 21, 2008.

8 league13 468 60
  1. Naki Feralkin

    Naki Feralkin New Member

    Suppose I have two Poliwrath's in play and the ability to free retreat into the other one (Via Mantine?), and I was to attack with a Poliwrath on the bench using Focus Punch.

    Here's the thing, both Poliwrath's take damage during its next turn through a snipe effect, would the benched Poliwrath be able to use Focus Punch?

    The way I read it, the benched Poliwrath has to take damage from the attack itself and not an effect of an attack.

    IE.

    Yanmega's Shockwave says nowhere in its text that the attack deals damage, so I assume that it is an effect.

    But:

    Dragonite's Draco Meteor says that the attack deals damage so it would not be able to sneak through the damage.

    How does this work with snipe, or because it is benched, that the effect gets removed?
     
  2. PokePop

    PokePop Administrator

    Damage is damage is damage.
    Placing damage counters is an effect.
    Doing damage is doing damage. That is not an effect, it is doing damage.
    If an attack does damage, it does damage.

    I know that sounds simple, but really, it is simple.

    Doing damage is never an effect.
     

Share This Page