Power Cancel vs speedy Cosmic Power

Discussion in 'Ask the Rules Team' started by Zyklon, Aug 6, 2008.

  1. Zyklon

    Zyklon New Member

    Let's say I have an Alakazam MT in play. My opponent uses Cosmic Power and draws - everything is done very fast. I had planned to Power Cancel his Claydol, but he used its power so fast that I didn't get the chance to do it. Would it be too late to protest, or could I have him reverse the effect (take back the bottom two cards, and shuffle the things he had drawed into his deck again, or something similar)?

    I would guess that it would be too late, but it would be pretty lame - a good Cosmic Power can change the whole game.
     
  2. PokePop

    PokePop Administrator

    We're not going to get into trying to make a hypothetical ruling based on "fast play".


    Bottom line, a player is supposed to announce what they are doing.
    Each player needs to pay attention to what is going on.
    There are multiple steps in doing a Cosmic Power, all of which are reversible up to the last step.
    One should be able to rewind if needed.
     

Share This Page