Prize Penalty helpful?

Discussion in 'Cards: Strategy and Rulings Discussion' started by Labman, Jun 30, 2008.

8 league13 468 60
  1. Labman

    Labman New Member

    Several mistakes made at tournament play are dealt with by prize penalty, allowing your opponent to take a prize card due to improper setup, etc.. But with cards such as Charizard SW and Torterra lvl X, wouldn't this only help the setup and strategy of certain decks? Although it would be of bad taste, this makes it very possible for a sly player to gain a more powerful setup by "accidentally" misplaying his/her setup. Just wondering how other player's viewed this concept.Discuss.
     
  2. Mystery Thing

    Mystery Thing Administrator

    That's why even if the penalty level is assessed, taking the prize card is optional. You don't HAVE to take the card, and the penalty is recorded either way.
     
  3. AnimeDDR110

    AnimeDDR110 New Member

    When I played at a Memorial Day tournament at a league I go to, me and a friend of mine both forgot to put out a prizes, but we didn't notice until we had to draw our first prizes. We got game losses =]

    In my opinion, that's the the fair way that your penalty for not putting out your prizes should be. I don't like the idea of you getting a possible better hand because you made a "mistake."
     
  4. Labman

    Labman New Member

    I see, but a player who does not know the basis of an opponents fall-behind deck will more than likely take the prize to put themselves ahead of the game. But I can see how the option would take effect in game 2.
     
  5. NoPoke

    NoPoke New Member

    at some point you have to take prizes to win.
     
  6. ashinto

    ashinto New Member

    true, but i know what he is saying. your opponent has a scramble, a gallade, a ralts, and a rare candy. so he "doesn't" do the right set up, go second, and get a first turn ko, which might win a game. where i play, if u don't set up correctly, u loose the game, so i think that taking a prize might help people.
     
  7. Flygon999

    Flygon999 New Member

    Well, I thought about doing this before. Rare Candy, Ralts, Scramble, Gallade, Prize Penalty FTW! But, that Warning is Permanant! They keep a record of it, and you get in big trouble buddy if you try this a lot. IMO don't try this at home. (or a tournament lol) But it is your chioce.
     
  8. Muscovy Level X

    Muscovy Level X New Member

    I believe there are exeptions like "Player X may draw 1 prize card at any time", or increased penalites or something if that player can benefit from it.
     
  9. NoPoke

    NoPoke New Member

    No, the penalty as currently implemented is that you draw the card then or not at all. (I have suggested making it a pending draw but that was just a suggestion to get around some of the difficulties inherent with players engineering prize penalties)

    If a Head Judge suspects that you are trying to engineer a prize loss to gain advantage then don't be surprised by the DQ that you get instead.

    [ashinto: well spotted! I was being deliberately obtuse with my earlier reply. *grin* Nevertheless my comment is still valid. You have to draw prizes if yu want to win and risk activating scramble etc at least until the rotation next season]
     
  10. Magnechu

    Magnechu Active Member

    I got a Prize Penalty towards the end of one of my Swiss games and it lost me the game, so I guess it works.
     
  11. SLOW DECK

    SLOW DECK New Member

    I wonder if a better options is to give the non-offending the player the option of taking:
    1. Prize Penalty
    2. Draw 4 Cards
    3. Opponent Shuffle hand into deck.(Draw 1)
    4. Draw any card from deck and put it into hand.

    Options, is probably gives a better answer to some of these "mechanic" issues, than prize penalties or game losses.

    I don't think this list of options is meant to be the final list, just the concept of giving the player an option of taking a prize, drawing cards, or having opponent surrender cards back to deck.
     
  12. Ignatious

    Ignatious New Member

    ... However, if the prize is not taken then no punishment is issued.
     
  13. DukeFireBird

    DukeFireBird Gallery Administrator<br>Forum Moderator

    thats not how a Prize Penalty works.

    The prize penalty is assessed when the gamestate becomes damaged, but fixable. Prize Penalty falls in between Warning and Game Loss. So A Prize penalty is like a warning with a consequence. This gets reported and then the opponent has the option to draw the prize or not. If another Prize Penalty comes into play for the same reason, the penalty may escalate into a Game Loss for a redundant penalty.

    ~Duke
     
  14. Mystery Thing

    Mystery Thing Administrator

    Not true. Even if the player opts not to take the prize card, the penalty is still recorded. If they do it again, there's a chance that it will be a game loss the next time. Even moreso if it looks like they're doing it intentionally to try and get an advantage in their setup.
     

Share This Page