PUI Ruling vs. Giovanni Trainer Card

Discussion in 'Ask the Rules Team' started by marril2k, Jan 9, 2004.

8 league13 468 60
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. marril2k

    marril2k Member

    I was at league when this intresting senario came up. The Giovanni Trainer card from Gym: Challenge reads:

    Okay... but wait, Pokemon USA, Inc. stated in a ruling on Rare Candy:

    So does this mean that that line of text in Giovanni is now excluded or perhaps is this ruling from PUI wrong? Just a thought,

    -marril
     
  2. Big Daddy Snorlax

    Big Daddy Snorlax Administrator

    Actually, PUI's ruling is based directly on Japanese rulings. Japan has been very clear on the subject - NOTHING evolves on the player's first turn of the game. Remember though, in Japanese play, older sets are not used with newer sets. They no longer consider the Giovanni trainer card something that they need to consider in their current rulings.

    The habit of going back and looking at every card in light of newly introduced game mechanics seems to be unique to western play. That's why we have such confusing compilations of rulings. *cough* Ditto *cough* When Jimmer was explaining the "nothing evolves on the player's first turn of the game" concept, we brought up the Giovanni trainer. Jimmer basically said, "let's just hope nobody opens that can of worms!!!" Then he grabbed his head, screamed loudly, and we moved on. :D

    We can ask if it is really important to you, but it may take a while to get an answer.

    BDS
     
  3. PokePop

    PokePop Administrator

    For now, play it as the exception that proves the rule.
    It's proves the rule (correct use of "prove" here, as in "proving grounds") because it specifically says that it works on the first turn. No other evolving card has that statement.
     
  4. Chrisbo

    Chrisbo Administrator

    Pop & BDS are both correct. In fact, we made a special note regarding Giovanni in the similar question down in the "Wally's Training" section of the Compendium-EX. I'll make a note to edit the one in "Rare Candy" next week.

    Thanks for bringing this to our attention,
    - CHRISBO, Team Compendium
     
    Last edited: Jan 20, 2004
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page