Pulse Barrier, Cesation Crystal and Energy Grounding

Discussion in 'Ask the Rules Team' started by pokeMATHter, Apr 7, 2008.

  1. pokeMATHter

    pokeMATHter Active Member

    I asked this question along time ago and it never got answered. If you get a chance at the next rules meeting...

    Original question:
    http://pokegym.net/forums/showthread.php?t=60117

    PokePop's response to this question
    http://pokegym.net/forums/showthread.php?t=59562
    brings up another question: What if Lanturn with Energy Grounding is also on the bench?

    Since you say you discard the Cessation Crystal as part of Electivire Lvl X's attack (Pulse Barrier), before the knockout, does that mean that Lantern's Energy Grounding kicks in?

    Reference cards:

    Electivire Lvl X
    http://pokegym.net/gallery/showimage.php?i=31253&c=154

    Cessation Crystal
    http://pokegym.net/gallery/showimage.php?i=18015&c=94

    Lanturn
    http://pokegym.net/gallery/showimage.php?i=20390&c=133
     
  2. Big Daddy Snorlax

    Big Daddy Snorlax Administrator

    We have an answer in the Compendium LV.X about Energy Grounding when the Pokemon has a Cessation Crystal attached, and normally you can not use Energy Grounding because the tool does not leave play until the Pokemon goes to the Discard pile after the KO. However, this is a special case because the attack is discarding the tool, so it leaves play during the attack resolution. That means it is gone before the Pokemon goes to the discard pile as a result of the KO, and in this special case Energy Grounding will work.

    BDS
     

Share This Page