Question about a soon to be released card (Team Magma's Torkoal)

Discussion in 'Ask the Rules Team' started by P_A, Feb 20, 2004.

8 league13 468 60
  1. P_A

    P_A Active Member

    Since I have a poster in front of me that showcases some of the new team magma/team aqua cards, I can see that there will be a problem for some people to distinguish which pokemon to do the damage to. Team Magma's Torkoal has an attack which reads:

    (R)(C) Hot Air 30
    Discard a (R)Energy attached to Team Magma's Torkoal, and your opponent switches the Defending Pokemon with 1 of his or her Benched Pokemon, if any.

    So, first of all, is the effect mandatory? Is this a "may discard" situation, or is it mandatory to discard the fire energy? And next, which one do you do the damage to - the original defending before you switch, or to the new defending afterward? I'm assuming the original defending gets hit, but some people may want confirmation on this before the pre-release.
     
    Last edited by a moderator: Feb 24, 2004

Share This Page