R.Zapdos/Steel hows it work?

Discussion in 'Cards: Strategy and Rulings Discussion' started by Umbreonking, Oct 1, 2003.

8 league13 468 60
  1. Umbreonking

    Umbreonking New Member

    I was told that if you attach a steel enegy to R.Zapdos he will only do ten damage to himself how is this possible?
     
  2. yoshi1001

    yoshi1001 New Member

    It used to be. It used to be that the damage would be reduced by 10 as damage done by Zapdos, then 10 more as damage done to Zapdos. However, the rule got changed so metal energy's defense properties applies only to metal pokemon, so it doesn't work anymore.
     
  3. Umbreonking

    Umbreonking New Member

    Does this apply to dark enegy not being able to do the extra damage unless it atached to a dark pokemon?
     
  4. dkates

    dkates New Member

    First off, this combo does not work anymore. Metal Energy was reprinted, and the new wording keeps R.Zapdos from getting any benefit from Metal Energy. Now that that disclaimer's done, the way it worked is that a Metal Energy reduced R.Zapdos' self-damage by 20, because it activated both sentences of Metal Energy.
     
  5. yoshi1001

    yoshi1001 New Member

    Or a Pokemon with dark in its name, yes.
     
  6. GreatFox

    GreatFox New Member

Share This Page