Rare Candy & EX Pokemon

Discussion in 'Ask the Rules Team' started by psycodad, Nov 10, 2003.

8 league13 468 60
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. psycodad

    psycodad New Member

    The following ruling

    Q. Can I use Rare Candy to evolve Pichu into Raichu EX?
    A. No, Rare Candy states if you have a card that "Evolves From" your Pokemon. Pikachu does not say that it "Evolves From" Pichu, so Rare Candy will not work in this situation. (Sep 11, 2003 PUI Rules Team Meeting)

    Is being interpreted as saying you can not use rare candy with any EX pokemon. For example, you can not evolve a aron with a rare candy into an aggron ex (or ralts into a gardevoir ex) Is this the correct intepretation?
     
  2. Chrisbo

    Chrisbo Administrator

    No, the ruling above only applies to Baby Pokemon, because the next stage up (i.e. Pikachu) does not specifically say that it "evolves from" the baby.

    Aggron-EX states that it evolves from Lairon, and Lairon says that evolves from Aron. Therefore the "evolves from" chain is complete enough to allow for Rare Candy to work.

    Hope this helps,
    - CHRISBO
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page