Rayquaza EX and multi energy

Discussion in 'Cards: Strategy and Rulings Discussion' started by The Shepherd, Apr 6, 2004.

8 league13 468 60
  1. The Shepherd

    The Shepherd New Member

    Can a Rayquaza EX with 1 :fire: and 1 multi energy discard both cards and deliver 80 damage?

    I had a huge discussion with TRUK and my friend Josh.

    I personally think this would be an illegal move, but supposedly there is a ruling out there that says this is legit... what do you think?
     
  2. NoPoke

    NoPoke New Member

    The ruling says it is legit and thats how I and many/most/all others would rule.

    Multi energy provides ALL colors ALL the time.

    PLAYERS HAVE NO CHOICE OVER WHAT ENERGY COLOR IS PROVIDED BY MULTI !


    for some earlier discussion:-
    http://www.pokegym.net/showthread.php?t=3708&highlight=multi
    http://www.pokegym.net/showthread.php?t=1972&highlight=multi
    http://www.pokegym.net/showthread.php?t=5188&highlight=multi
    http://www.pokegym.net/showthread.php?t=5188&highlight=multi

    and also in the compendium EX

    click please!

    Hey Compendium peeps would it be possible to add those nice #tags links or whatever they are called so that we can reference the point in the compendium directly?
     
    Last edited: Apr 6, 2004
  3. PokePop

    PokePop Administrator

    Q. If I have a Rayquaza-EX Active with three Lighting energy and a Rainbow Energy and used Dragon Burst, would I have to discard the Rainbow Energy along with the Lighting energy? Would the same apply with a Multi Energy?
    A. Yes, Rainbow Energy counts as all types, so it would have to be discarded along with the rest of the Lightning Energy (if that's the type you choose to discard). Same goes for Multi Energy as long as no other special energy cards are attached at the time of attack. This is a REVERSAL of what was stated in the EX-Dragon prerelease FAQ. (Feb 12, 2004 PUI Rules Team)
     
  4. bytor

    bytor New Member

    I think the kicker here is you are supplying the needed energy to do the attack, and then being able to also use those same energy cards to boost the damage total. I think the confusion stems from attack descriptions from other cards that have said "..but not used to pay for this attack".

    I guess if it does not expressly say in the attack text "but not used to pay for this attack" you can assume that the energy attatched to the pokemon used to pay for the attack can also be used to boost the attack, if possible.
     
  5. PokePop

    PokePop Administrator

    Actually, the confusion is from the Energy card being used to pay an attack cost of one color and then, at the same time, being counted as an energy of another color. It's the difficulty in comprehending the "rainbow" quality of these, well, Rainbow-like energies and that paying an attack cost does not "lock-in" nor "use up" an energy card for other purposes such as "counting" or "discarding" unless specified in the attack text.
     

Share This Page