RE: Island Hermit

Discussion in 'Ask the Rules Team' started by bullados, Oct 31, 2007.

  1. bullados

    bullados <a href="http://pokegym.net/forums/showthread.php?

    http://pokegym.net/forums/showthread.php?t=62134

    Can you choose 0 as a number for prize card flips and draw 2 cards? How about if your deck is empty, do you have to flip at least one of the prizes?

    [EDIT]

    In the scenario that your deck is not empty, both of your principles are met. The Trainer is being played for an action, you are drawing two cards. You are doing as much as you can.

    Are the two actions now COMPLETELY INDEPENDENT of one another? Because, even if you flip 0 prizes, you are still affecting the game state by drawing two cards.

    I guess the confusion lies in the completion of the first principle...

    [EDIT]
     
    Last edited: Oct 31, 2007
  2. Big Daddy Snorlax

    Big Daddy Snorlax Administrator

    There are two principles of the game that must be applied to answer your questions.
    • You cannot play a Trainer for no action, you must do something.
    • As long as you complete any actions required, but cannot complete all actions, you do as much as you can.
    That means that 0 is no longer a valid choice, although in the past it was, but not any more. That ruling changed some time ago. It also means that if you turn 1 or 2 cards over but cannot draw, you do as much as you can and stop.

    BDS
     

Share This Page