Regirock, Regice, and Registeel Poke-Powers (Legends Awakened)

Discussion in 'Cards: Strategy and Rulings Discussion' started by Pikachews, Mar 12, 2011.

8 league13 468 60
  1. Pikachews

    Pikachews New Member

    So my question is:

    Are we allowed to use their pokepowers to discard without using their effects, or is the effect of the pokepower a condition to discard the cards?

    So for example:
    I have a benched Regice.
    I use it's pokepower "Regi Move" to discard 2 magikarps in my hand.
    My opponent has a non basic pokemon (Stage 1 or 2) active.

    Can I still discard the magikarps?

    Thanks! :smile:
     
  2. Yoshi-

    Yoshi- New Member

    Ice and steel can be used without their condition, rock not
     
  3. Ze Quidinateur

    Ze Quidinateur New Member

    To elaborate on Yoshi's anwer, Regirock can't be used without the energy in the discard, because it states "Once during your turn, if you have a :fighting: energy in your Discard pile" etc., while Registeel and Regice don't have that clause in the first rule of the Pokepower. Regice is confusing, but your opponent's Active pokemon being unevolved is not a requirement for using the power, it's just that it doesn't do anything other than discarding if it's Evolved.
     

Share This Page