Retreating

Discussion in 'Ask the Rules Team' started by Spirit Of Mew, Mar 18, 2008.

  1. Spirit Of Mew

    Spirit Of Mew New Member

    Okay so I have a pokemon with a double rainbow energy and a basic energy active. I have delcatty ex on my bench. I want to get as much energy as possible into my discard with delcatty and my active as a two retreat cost.

    I have read that when retreating you may discard an energy that provides more than one if it fills the retreat cost. I have also read that if you want you can discard by way of energy cards.

    So am I correct that I could discard the double rainbow energy and the basic energy?


    Edit:

    Thank you PokePop for pointing that out.
     
    Last edited: Mar 19, 2008
  2. mtjimmer

    mtjimmer Master Trainer, Emeritus

    This is correct. (The rulebook covers this on page 20, under "How Do You Retreat Using Double Energy Cards?")
     
  3. PokePop

    PokePop Administrator

    Note, though, that you have to do it in the opposite order than what you mentioned.

    You would have to discard the basic energy first. That would leave you with one energy yet to go.
    THEN you can discard the DRE.

    If you discard the DRE first, you are done. You have paid the cost. You can't then discard the other energy for no reason.
     

Share This Page