Rules Questions

Discussion in 'Trading Figure Game' started by W1ld1, Nov 21, 2007.

  1. W1ld1

    W1ld1 New Member

    I just picked up a few starters and boosters and played a few games. Then... I read over the rulebook, extensively. Its wording is very ambiguous and I'm looking for precise answers to certain ambiguities it raises.

    1) What is the order of actions you can do on your turn? Is there an order of actions (Play trainer card, move, attack)? The rulebook does not explicitly state there is an order to what you can do on your turn. In its vagueness, I understood the rules to mean you could move and/or attack with all of your pokemon in any order on each of your turns.

    2) "Moving back", the rulebook states that you can not move your figure back as an action. However, it said you must perform one action per turn. What consitutes moving back? If you only move one figure a turn, like most of the posts on this site seem to suggest how would you move towards your goal?

    3) Trainer Cards: In the rulebook, it states that you must move the figure you used the trainer card on. However, it also said you don't have to move or attack if you used a trainer card.

    4) Is there an extensive FAQ that answers a lot of these questions?

    I think there needs to be a rulebook that's more precise in its wording because the rules as they stand can be interpreted in a number of different ways. Without, a more extensive version of them it makes it difficult to play the game the way it was intended to be played. This confusion can cause reduced enjoyment, which seems to be unecessary. I like the figures and core mechanics of the rules (from what I understand... not much), but I just wish the rulebook laid out precise rules because, for me, I'm finding I have more questions than there are rules.

    Thanks.
     
  2. Jigglychu

    Jigglychu New Member

    1. Trainer card, move, then attack.

    2. I think you can move any direction. I think they were trying to prevent people moving one space forward and one space backward in the same turn.

    3. .....Good question.... I suppose if you chose not to move..... but why? Maybe it means for cards not battle-related?

    The rulebook is a little unclear on some aspects, I'm not a judge, and the Figures don't seem to be wirtten in the "legal-ese" style that the TCG is. :lol:
     
  3. W1ld1

    W1ld1 New Member

    Thanks

    Thanks for clearing that up. I probably should've interpreted the rules that way in the book, but I guess I looked for precise wording like "can only move 1 pokemon per turn."

    Appreciate the help.

    Does anyone else know the answer to the moving back rule? I'm a little confused as to what constitutes moving backwards. I would assume if someone is going towards your goal and you have to move backwards to stop them, it's legal... But the "no moving backwards" rule seems to contradict that type of movement.
     
    Last edited: Nov 21, 2007
  4. warpy

    warpy New Member

    no moving backwards rule means you cant move one space and back, EG. if you have a pokemon on your goal you cant move off the goal and back on in the same turn (i assume it's to prevent stalling)
     
  5. mtjimmer

    mtjimmer Master Trainer, Emeritus

    You must do something during your turn.

    You can have a Pokemon stay in place, as long as you attack.

    You can't choose to simply move a Pokemon one space, and then back to its original space and say that you're done. (A situation might come up that both of your entry points are blocked, and you have a Pokemon sitting on Goal - you have to do something, you can't just sit there.)
     

Share This Page