Salamance EX -Dual Stream when my opponents has no bench

Discussion in 'Ask the Rules Team' started by NoPoke, Jan 23, 2007.

  1. NoPoke

    NoPoke New Member

    DRAGON FRONTIERS Salamence EX (Delta Species)

    [W][W]:colorless:colorless Dual Stream 80
    "You may do 40 damage this turn instead of 80 to the Defending Pokemon. If you do, this attack does 40 damage to one of your opponent's Benched Pokemon. (Dont apply weakness and resistance for Benched Pokemon."

    Am I allowed to do 40 damage instead to the defending pokemon when my opponent has no bench?
  2. Big Daddy Snorlax

    Big Daddy Snorlax Administrator

    In other words, can you choose to do 40 Damage to the active, even though there is no Bench to do the other 40 Damage to? Good question. On the surface of it, it looks like you are making a choice that you know will fail, but the way the card is worded the choice to do 40 to the active does not seem to be dependent on doing 40 to the Bench, so it should work.

    We'll make Jimmer answer this one. However, he's in Japan this week, so no Rules Team until next week. Please stand by. :wink:


Share This Page