Same name = same effect?

Discussion in 'Cards: Strategy and Rulings Discussion' started by Fantasy Fox, Jan 12, 2004.

8 league13 468 60
  1. Fantasy Fox

    Fantasy Fox New Member

    If I have 2 Kabutops EX for active and both of them has damage counters, when I use Spiral Drain from 1 of my Kabutops EX, do I remove 2 damage counters from the other Kabutops EX also?

    (F)(F)(C)(C) Spiral Drain - 70
    Remove 2 damage counters from Kabutops EX(1 if there is only 1).

    This is only 1 example of many cards created in the same manner.
     
  2. The Shepherd

    The Shepherd New Member

    No... when a pokemon card says its name it is only referring to itself.
     
  3. Mr. Grass

    Mr. Grass New Member

    When a pokemon's attack or power specifies itself by name, effects are applied to the pokemon using the attack or power as if it said "this pokemon" instead of the name. Example: Clefable Metronomes Charizard's Flamethrower, which has "Discard a Fire Energy Card attached to Charizard". Since the wording of the attack uses Charizard ro refer to itself, you would replace it with the phrase "This Pokemon" when something copies it.
    If an attack specifies other pokemon with the same name, you don't replace it. So if Clefable Metronomed the Jungle set Bellsprout's Call for Family which reads "Search your deck for a Basic Pokémon named Bellsprout and put it onto your Bench..." You would search your deck for Bellsprouts.
     

Share This Page