Seadra's Energy Cannon and Kingdra ex's Genetic Memory

Discussion in 'Ask the Rules Team' started by Pidgeotto Trainer, Mar 20, 2004.

8 league13 468 60
  1. Pidgeotto Trainer

    Pidgeotto Trainer New Member

    Seadra from Dragon has the following attack
    W Energy Cannon 20+
    Does 20 damage plus 10 more damage for each energy attached to Seadra but not used to pay for this attack's Energy cost. You can't add more than 20 damage in this way.

    Kingdra ex has this attack
    W Genetic Memory
    Use any attack from Kingdra ex's basic pokemon card or stage 1 evolution card. (Kingdra ex doesn't have to pay for that attack's energy cost.)

    My question is: How would you resolve Energy Cannon when used by Genetic Memory? If Kingdra ex has 1 Water attached would it do 20 or 30? You could say that you have no extra energy than the 1 Water used for Genetic Memory and therefore should do 20. You could also say that since Genetic Memory says you don't have to pay for the attack's energy cost that the 1 Water is extra and therefore would add 10 damage making it 30.
    This would also determine if 2 Water would do 30 or 40.
     

Share This Page