Search cards

Discussion in 'Ask the Rules Team' started by MutatedRat, Apr 2, 2008.

  1. MutatedRat

    MutatedRat New Member

    Hi, I've got a few questions about how search cards work. For cards like Rosanne's Research that are worded, "search your deck for up to __," do you have to declare how many cards you are searching for before actually searching (like Delcatty's energy draw), and are you forced to take one (or two, if you declared two) even if you've searched and found no desirable targets? Also, what happens if you find no legal targets while searching, is the card just discarded with no effect? Thanks in advance.
     
  2. PokePop

    PokePop Administrator

    You don't have to declare.
    A seach of the deck can fail on purpose because no one but you knows what is left in your deck (in game terms, anyway).

    That's different than just drawing cards because the number of cards available is clearly visible and is public knowledge.

    If you find nothing, the card is still discarded.
    There was an effect - you got to search your deck.
     

Share This Page