SM: Forbidden Light FAQ

Discussion in 'TCG News & Gossip Discussion' started by PokePop, Apr 20, 2018.

  1. PokePop

    PokePop Administrator

    PokePop submitted a new front page post

    SM: Forbidden Light FAQ

    [​IMG]

    Prerelease events are about to start this weekend and we have the official FAQ for you here. I'm sure OP will be getting the fancy one out soon with nice artwork and everything, but here, on two pages and with only B&W text, to save on printing costs, are the new FAQs for TOs and Judges to have handy at your events! We also have them as part of the article, so you can print them out either way.

    Enjoy.

    Here's the link to the pdf document: FAQ-SM06

    And here are the Questions:
    POKEMON ABILITIES:

    == ABNORMAL OUTBREAK (Scatterbug - SM:Forbidden Light)

    Q. When can I use Scatterbug's "Abnormal Outbreak" Ability?
    A. It's pretty clear. If you are not taking the first turn of the game, then when you get your first turn (i.e. the second turn of the game) you may use Abnormal Outbreak. This is the only turn of the game when this Ability may be used.

    Q. Suppose I have two Scatterbugs in play on the second turn of the game and it's my turn; can I use "Abnormal Outbreak" twice?
    A. Yes, you can use it once for each Scatterbug you have in play during that turn.

    == JET GEYSER (Volcanion {*} - SM:Forbidden Light)

    Q. Can I discard a {W} energy card from my hand using Volcanion {*}'s "Jet Geyser" Ability if my opponent has no Benched Pokemon?
    A. Yes, you may.

    == STICKY MEMBRANE (Goomy - SM:Forbidden Light)

    Q. Does Goomy's "Sticky Membrane" Ability increase the attack cost of no energy attacks like Alolan Marowak's "Limbo Limbo" attack?
    A. Yes, it does.

    Q. Does Goomy's "Sticky Membrane" Ability increase the attack cost of attacks where the cost is ignored, such as when "Roto Motor" applies?
    A. No, it does not.

    == UNNERVE (Pyroar - SM:Forbidden Light)

    Q. Can I play Eneporter to try and fail to move a Special Energy onto a Pyroar that is protected by its "Unnerve" Ability, or would I not be able to play Eneporter at all?
    A. The fact that its effect will be blocked by another effect such as Unnerve does not prevent an Item or Supporter card from being played. For example, your opponent may play Eneporter to try moving a Special Energy and Pyroar is a valid target, but Unnerve blocks the effect even though Eneporter was played. Playing a card for no effect happens when the game state itself prevents any effect from taking place and in that case the card would not be played, but that is not what this example is referring to.

    POKEMON ATTACKS:

    == BUBBLE TRAP (Araquanid - SM:Forbidden Light)

    Q. Does Araquanid's "Bubble Trap" attack get its bonus damage if the Pokemon that used "Bubble" on my previous turn was Knocked Out or is no longer in play?
    A. Yes, you get the bonus damage. The effect of "using Bubble" is on the player, not on the Pokemon.

    == HAZE SLASH (Greninja GX - SM:Forbidden Light)

    Q. If I use Greninja GX's "Haze Slash" attack to shuffle it back into my deck and also Knock Out the Defending Pokemon, who promotes a new Active Pokemon first?
    A. In this case you promote first. Greninja GX is shuffled back in as an effect of the attack before KO's are checked, so it must be replaced before either player checks for KO's.

    == MULTIPLY (Exeggcute - SM:Forbidden Light)

    Q. The wording of Exeggcute's "Multiply" attack is a little ambiguous. Does it mean you can only search for one Exeggcute, or as many Exeggcute as you want?
    A. Just one.

    == TICKING KNOCK OUT (Aegislash - SM:Forbidden Light)

    Q. If I use Aegislash's "Ticking Knock Out" attack but my opponent moves the Defending Pokemon to the bench, on my next turn if I bring that Pokemon active and damage it or if I damage it on the bench is it knocked out?
    A. Only if you do enough damage to meet or exceed that Pokemon's remaining HP. The effect of "Ticking Knock Out" is on the Defending Pokemon and is cleared when it moves to the bench, so you would have to knock it out by normal means rather than by simply doing any amount of damage to it.

    == UNTAMED PUNCH (Pangoro - SM:Forbidden Light)

    Q. If I use "Untamed Punch" with an undamaged Pangoro, does it still get the Confusion effect?

    A. No, damage counters on your attacking Pangoro are required for both the Confusion and the extra damage.

    == WINK WINK (Sylveon - SM:Forbidden Light)

    Q. If I've already played a Supporter this turn and use Sylveon's "Wink Wink" attack, can I still use the effect of a Supporter I discard from my opponent's hand?
    A. Yes. You are not playing a second supporter, but using its effect via an attack.

    Q. If I use Sylveon's "Wink Wink" attack and discard my opponent's Diantha, can I get 2 cards from my discard pile even it 1 of my {Y} Pokemon was not Knocked Out on my Opponent's last turn?
    A. No, you still have to meet the requirements of the card's text. You can discard the Diantha, though.

    TRAINER CARDS:

    == ENEPORTER (SM:Forbidden Light)

    Q. Can I play Eneporter to try and fail to move a Special Energy onto a Pyroar that is protected by its "Unnerve" Ability, or would I not be able to play Eneporter at all?
    A. The fact that its effect will be blocked by another effect such as Unnerve does not prevent an Item or Supporter card from being played. For example, your opponent may play Eneporter to try moving a Special Energy and Pyroar is a valid target, but Unnerve blocks the effect even though Eneporter was played. Playing a card for no effect happens when the game state itself prevents any effect from taking place and in that case the card would not be played, but that is not what this example is referring to.

    == LYSANDRE LABS (SM:Forbidden Light)

    Q. If Lysandre Labs is in play, do effects that depend on the presence of Tool cards, such as the damage increase of Doublade's "Curse of the Blade" attack or the energy cost modification of Rotom's "Roto Motor" Ability still work?
    A. If an effect depends simply on the presence of a Tool card in a certain location, the effect still works. It is the Tool card's effects that are cancelled, not effects based on the presence of a Tool.
     

Share This Page