Smash Short vs Holon WP... if you can't discard the tool, does it do extra damage?

Discussion in 'Ask the Rules Team' started by Vegetasou, Feb 10, 2008.

8 league13 468 60
  1. Vegetasou

    Vegetasou New Member

    Okay say Wailord has Holon WP + Water + Psychic + Leftovers and Pachirisu GE performs Smash Short. What would be the total damage output to Wailord? Would it be:

    1) 20 damage because Holon WP protects Leftovers from being targeted and discarded.

    or

    2) 80 damage because Holon WP only protects Leftovers from being discarded (damage calculation still occurs).

    Thanks!
     
    Last edited by a moderator: Feb 24, 2008
  2. mtjimmer

    mtjimmer Master Trainer, Emeritus

    WP prevents effects other than damage done to Wailord, and discarding its Pokemon Tool counts as an effect done to Wailord.

    However, the 10+30 is not related to discarding the Tool. It would do 40, doubled for Wailord's Weakness to 80.
     

Share This Page