"Star" colorless energy, cont

Discussion in 'Ask the Rules Team' started by Poke Granny, Mar 1, 2008.

8 league13 468 60
  1. Poke Granny

    Poke Granny New Member

    This is a contuation of the previous question.

    I just want to make sure I have this straight since we have been doing it wrong.

    I have Wurmple, Silcoon and Beautifly from DP in front of me as well as Cyclone, Boost and Double Rainbow energy.

    Wurmple has two attacks, the first calls for a colorless energy the second a grass energy, my understanding is that any energy (fight, fire, whatever) would satisfy the colorless requirement but only grass would satisfy the grass requirement. Is that right so far? Carrying thru to Beautifly, her second attack calls for 2 grass and 2 colorless, and again only grass for the grass but anything for the 2 colorless.

    My confusion comes in with the special energy. Here is my understanding from the answer you gave me earlier. If I wanted to use the Cyclone I could use it to satisfy Wurmple's colorless requirement, but not the grass reguirement. If I wanted to use Double Rainbow Energy it would satisfy both energy requirements of Silcoon's second attack which calls for 1 grass and 1 colorless. If I wanted to use Boost with Beautifly I could use it to satisfy the two colorless but I would still need 2 grass to satisfy the grass requirement. Did I get that right?

    If I got both things right then I don't understand the logic that allows the colorless on the pokemon card to be satisfied by "anything" but the colorless special doesn't satisfy "anything" it only satisfies colorless.
    :confused::confused::confused::confused::confused:
     
  2. PokePop

    PokePop Administrator

    Yep, you got all of those right.

    I'll see if I can think up some nifty analogy for you.
    The best way to look at is is the energy requirement is a hole. It has to be filled by the right part.
    The colorless hole in an attack requirement is a universal hole. Any "part" will fit into it.
    Holes of different colors have specific "receptors" and an energy card must have the right plug to fit into it.
    A Rainbow Energy has all kinds of plugs sticking out all over it. One of those plugs will fit into any receptor that it finds, so it can fit into any hole.

    A colorless energy, on the other hand, doesn't have any of the right plugs except a basic plug that will only fit into a colorless requirement "hole".

    Best I could think up on the spur of the moment.
    Let me know if that helps.
     

Share This Page