Steel energy and "Put damage counters on"

Discussion in 'Ask the Rules Team' started by Hazblade, Nov 3, 2003.

8 league13 468 60
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Hazblade

    Hazblade New Member

    I was having a match with BK and this problemcame up: He had a Rocket's Scyzor (pardon my spelling) and i had a Xatu with Psyimpact. Psyimpact says "Put 1 damage counter on each of your opponent's Pokemon". My question is, does steel energy stop psyimpact, pain amplifier and other "Put damage on..." atacks?


    Ryan~~ :D
     
  2. PokePop

    PokePop Administrator

    Q. I've noticed that some cards say "Does 10 damage to the Defending Pokémon", whereas others say "Put 1 damage counter on the defending PokÈmon". Is there any reason for the different wording? I've spoken to someone who says that you do not apply weakness or resistance for attacks where it specifies Damage Counters; is this the case?
    A. There is a difference. As you mention, weakness and resistance are not applied when placing counters. Also, things like Defender and Metal Energy will not block Placing Damage Counters. It will not trigger things like Base Set Machamp's Strike Back. In the steps of resolving an Attack, "placing Damage Counters" counts as an Effect of the attack, it is not part of "doing damage". (Sep 18, 2003 PUI Rules Team Meeting)
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page