Telepass & Steven's Advice Ruling Change

Discussion in 'Compendium Notices' started by bulbasnore, Aug 15, 2008.

  1. bulbasnore

    bulbasnore Administrator Staff Member Trader Feedback Mod

    The PCL judges have provided a new ruling that will be in effect for today at the Grinder and tomorrow at Worlds.

    The following ruling currently in the Compendium is not correct:
    Q. What happens if you have exactly 6 cards in your hand and you want to use Gardevoir's "Telepass" Poke-POWER to use a Steven's Advice in oponent's discard pile? You have six cards in hand but Steven's Advice says "including this one", but you don't actually have that card in your hand...
    A. You can use the effect of Steven's Advice; as you pointed out, the Steven's Advice is not in your hand. However, if you have 7 cards in your hand when you try this, you cannot choose your opponent's Steven's Advice. (Apr 10, 2008 PUI Rules Team)
    The corrected ruling is:
    Q. What happens if you have exactly 6 cards in your hand and you want to use Gardevoir's "Telepass" Poke-POWER to use a Steven's Advice in my oponent's discard pile? You have six cards in hand but Steven's Advice says "including this one", but you don't actually have that card in your hand...
    A. You can NOT use the effect of Steven's Advice. If you have 6 cards in your hand when you try this, you cannot choose your opponent's Steven's Advice. (Aug 15, 2008 PUI Rules Team)
    Thank you,
    - PUI Rules Team
     
    Last edited by a moderator: Aug 15, 2008
  2. bullados

    bullados <a href="http://pokegym.net/forums/showthread.php?

    That's a pretty big change right before Worlds. I'm gonna enjoy the Grapes off this particular one...
     
  3. BloodDraek

    BloodDraek New Member

    what if you do have a steven's in your hand along with 5 other cards can you telepass steven's? If so must you show your hand to the opponent
     
  4. PkmnManiac

    PkmnManiac New Member

    I bet people are gonna love that ruling. Course, didn't everybody say if you have 5 cards or less, excluding the Steven's, you can use the card?
     
  5. waynegg

    waynegg CotD Editor<br>Forum Moderator

    FINALLY!

    and @ Blood- it doesn't matter what six cards you have in your hand, you still can't telepass the steven.
     
  6. Brawler

    Brawler <a href="http://pokegym.net/forums/showpost.php?p=

    Hurts PLOX due to the fact that they rely on telepassing steven's...
     
  7. yoshi1001

    yoshi1001 New Member

    Also effects Milotic d. Interesting to say the least.
     
  8. DarthPika

    DarthPika New Member

    This is dumb that this was made a ruling AFTER most of the season... >_>
     
  9. PokePockets

    PokePockets New Member

    Well, it affected the LCQ and Worlds Main Event, along with anytime that anyone plays Gardevoir and Steven's (Unlimited, Leauge, etc.)
     
  10. Sparky

    Sparky New Member

    Why would they change the rulings so late in the season?
     
    Last edited: Aug 16, 2008
  11. DarthPika

    DarthPika New Member

    I'm not saying its dumb that they made the ruling, but dumb that they waited so long.
     
  12. waynegg

    waynegg CotD Editor<br>Forum Moderator

    it should affect porygon 2 (download) as well, right?
     
  13. bulbasnore

    bulbasnore Administrator Staff Member Trader Feedback Mod

    Because the PCL judges asked us to do so in time for it to be played correctly at Grinder & Worlds.

    The previous ruling from April is corrected.
     
  14. PkmnManiac

    PkmnManiac New Member

    I think some people are saying: "Great timing PCL!"

    It would probably beneift for Worlds 09' that all rules are known BEFORE the Grinder and actual Tourney. Just "Pokemon for thought."
     
  15. homeofmew

    homeofmew Active Member

    This Was a HUGE shock at grinder
    none the less we played as is.
     
  16. PokePop

    PokePop Administrator

    Why now? Because we only get to see and spend time with PCL at Worlds.
    This is not new. We get corrections every year pretty much.
    The move to 40 minute rounds had a much bigger effect on deck construction than this.
     
  17. speeder

    speeder New Member

    Does this ruling affect Kirlia's psychic research? What about other supporter-copying attacks/powers?
     
  18. PokePop

    PokePop Administrator

    It affects all of them.
    It is an example and illustrates a principle
     
  19. My opponent used Claydol's power and then telepassed my Stevens'. Was this the right way to go?
     
  20. yoyofsho16

    yoyofsho16 New Member

    No, that was illegal. Essentially, the Claydol/Steven's combo was what made this ruling so significant.
     

Share This Page