The Finer Points

Discussion in 'Compendium Notices' started by bulbasnore, Oct 21, 2008.

  1. Rainbowgym

    Rainbowgym Active Member

    It's there, we had a long discussion about it.
    The way "when time is called" is discribed it says the judge determines ............... ...........
    The Judge not the players, that's what it says.
    Tournament rules 18.7.2
     
  2. bulbasnore

    bulbasnore Administrator Staff Member

    A judge being present will be the common case in 2of3 matches at top cut, but I don't think that 18.7.2 usage specifically excludes the players from making the call. It rather is telling the judge how to make the call when present/necessary.
     
    Last edited: Oct 23, 2008
  3. Rainbowgym

    Rainbowgym Active Member

    That's how I did read it to, and it does make sense (most of all if scorekeepers are used).

    I think I have to go into discussion about this one more time. ( not on the gym but in real live)
     
  4. Red Haired Shanks

    Red Haired Shanks New Member

    These rules seem better and seem more organized. The thing that makes me sad that it will be way easier now to get DQ'd. I probably cannot last the season.

    -Norman
     
  5. mumsascrappa

    mumsascrappa Active Member

    Fabulous information. Thanks so much for putting it in writing for all to see and learn from. :thumb::thumb:
     
  6. doomsday24

    doomsday24 Member

    That does seem fair. :biggrin:

    Now I just have to brush up on that teaching an old dog a new trick thing. :lol:
     
  7. bulbasnore

    bulbasnore Administrator Staff Member

    Yep, I had just gotten used to the beauties of having my deck sideways when I saw Mike Liesik explain 'deck vertical' at a judge meeting and I was :eek::frown::cool:.
     
  8. doomsday24

    doomsday24 Member

    I just explained this to Jared at league tonight. It sure went over well. We spent the entire game pointing out each and every time the other did just that during the games (usually by using a finger to tap the turned sideways deck). Not to mention I spent the entire night mentally slapping my hand every time I caught myself.

    This is soooo going to take time to get used to. :lol:
     
  9. Prime

    Prime Content Developer<br>Blog Admin<br>Contest Host

    I know at Nationals, the judges wanted the prizes to look a certain way (2 rows of 3). Could that be included with this stuff?
     
  10. PokePop

    PokePop Administrator

    That was just an individual judge thing, not a POP mandate.
    The only rules for prizes is that they have to be on the opposite side from the deck & discard, and they have to all be visible. The exact arrangement is up to the player.
     
  11. DukeFireBird

    DukeFireBird Gallery Administrator<br>Forum Moderator

    With the prizes, players are going to rearrange them especially after an Azelf useage, to remember what cards are where, I know I do this, but I make the pile neat and orderly as possible.

    ~Duke
     
  12. bulbasnore

    bulbasnore Administrator Staff Member

    There are times when its OK for the HJ/TO to specify the default arrangement.

    It varies by the conditions of the tournament as to space, staffing, table color and so forth. It is something that can legitimately be spoken to by the HJ/TO. When you have 50 players with different arrangements, including florettes, pyramids and cascades of various types (the case was folks were trying to be unique) many of which were causing the play area to be displaced, and few of which were readable at a glance, it's OK to tell the players 2x3 and remind the stragglers to fix it as you walk by (usually just a tap does it).

    Not penalty worthy unless the player keeps returning to an 'arrangement' that camoflages the number of prizes remaining in some way (overlapped cascade of black sleeves on black table in poorly lit space (Shuffle & Cut@LaMirada CA).
     
  13. PokePop

    PokePop Administrator

    Very true.
    Space considerations and ease of visibility will trump "individual expression"
     
  14. MirChamp

    MirChamp New Member

    If you are allowed to take notes, then what can your notes contain. I mean if you may not write in code, and i use time walk to see my prizes, may i write down what i see, and if so why should the opponent be able to read it.
     
  15. PokePop

    PokePop Administrator

    Pokemon Organized Play recently revised their ruling about taking notes for Time Walk.
    Since note taking is only supposed to include Game State information and since the contents of your prizes are not public information (and therefore not Game State), you cannot take any notes about the contents of your prizes.
    You can note that you used Time Walk and what Pokemon you may have taken from the prizes, but no notes on anything that is not public info.
     
  16. PokePop

    PokePop Administrator

    Update to this.
    Rules for note taking have changed since this was posted.
    Now only the player and the judge may see the notes, so contents of prizes, or other private info, may be included in notes.
    They must still be readable by a another party (the judge).
     

Share This Page