Trainer, breeder/Elm's training method

Discussion in 'Ask the Rules Team' started by P_A, Sep 16, 2003.

8 league13 468 60
  1. P_A

    P_A Active Member

    Trainer/ Breeder, Elm’s training method

    Great idea about putting up this area, it’ll really help. Being A gym leader, I get asked a lot of questions about rulings. Some from our gym noticed the new forum for official ruling questions and asked me to send these in:

    In light of the new current rulings in regard to rare candy & Wally’s training, can we evolve to a stage 2 with Pokemon Breeder- after the first turn, but on the first turn a basic is put into play? Breeder breaks the normal rules of evolution also.

    Also, how about Professor Elm’s Training Method?
  2. Big Daddy Snorlax

    Big Daddy Snorlax Administrator

    We don't need a ruling from PUI on this one. The answer can be found on the Pokemon Breeder card itself. Here is the wording:

    The key words are "You can only play this card when you would be allowed to evolve that Pokemon anyway." The rules would not allow you to evolve a Pokemon on the turn it is played, so you cannot play a Breeder on the turn the Pokemon is played. Rare Candy and Wally's Training do not have this wording.

    As to the Professor Elm’s Training Method, all that card does is allow you to search your deck for an evolution card and put it in your hand. It has nothing to do with playing the evolution card.

    Last edited: Sep 16, 2003

Share This Page