unown G (and other such cards and attack effects)

Discussion in 'Cards: Strategy and Rulings Discussion' started by thegatekeeper, Feb 16, 2008.

8 league13 468 60
  1. thegatekeeper

    thegatekeeper New Member

    Ok, scenario time.

    Secret wonders weavile attacks with chip off. Opponent's active pokemon has an unown G attached to his or her active.

    "OK, I get to discard your hand until, you have 5 cards left"
    "no, you cant. Unown G prevents all effects"
    "yes, I can. Unown G says prevents all effects done to the POKEMON. This effect is applied to YOU, the PLAYER!"
    "Nooooooo, your pokemon's attacks and effects are ALWAYS still aimed at my POKEMON, thus it is prevented by unown G"

    Who is right? I was sure that the effect IS still applied as the effect is NOT targeted at the pokemon, but the player (or pokemon trainer!)
     
  2. ChubbyChilupa135

    ChubbyChilupa135 New Member

    U still get to discard because it's against the player not the Pokemon and G says effects done to this pokemon... not this player..
     
  3. KAZUTO!!!

    KAZUTO!!! New Member

    You were right.
     
  4. NoPoke

    NoPoke New Member

    Once upon a time effects were directed at Pokemon only.. we had that whole lot of fun with Suicune (Neo Revelation). We had the Magby (NG) Sputter rulling. I'm trying to remember the first example where effects resided on the opponent and not on a Pokemon: The game changed significantly even if we didn't really notice.
     
  5. Dom

    Dom New Member

    Ian I think it might be Sabrina's Gengar from Gym Challenge, similar to Magby or do you mean things like Manectric ex where its only affecting the player?

    And yes Chris you were right just to confirm, the cards still get discarded.
     
  6. VagrantLest

    VagrantLest New Member

    Does Unown G prevent the effects of Gardevoir(SW)'s Psychic Lock? If so how does it work, would the Unown need to be attached to the pokemon wanting to use the poke power or to the active pokemon(assuming they are different?)
     
  7. vanderbilt_grad

    vanderbilt_grad New Member

    Unown does nothing vs Psychic Lock. The effect of not being able to use powers is on the player not the pokemon.
     
  8. PokePop

    PokePop Administrator

    Yes.
    The Rules Team had huge discussions when the change happened and the "Magby Rule" was overturned.
    We were sure the player base would make a huge deal over it.

    No one noticed! :confused:

    It was a few years ago and people have slowly become aware of the change.

    It is one of the fundamental differences between how WotC interpreted the game vs how PUI does.
    PUI tries very hard to follow how PLC interprets the cards. PCL being the Japanese game designers for those that don't know.
     
  9. PokePop

    PokePop Administrator

    It wasn't Sab's Gengar. That was under WotC.
    It might have been when Manectric ex was introduced.
     
  10. The Captain

    The Captain New Member

    is discarding energy an effect on the defending pokemon so would g or wp stop it
     
  11. Dom

    Dom New Member

    If its discarding energy from the pokemon with unown/wp attached then its prevented. Discarding from the attacker is still done.
     
  12. PokePop

    PokePop Administrator

    Don't start making rulings on it.
    We should get a ruling on it shortly.
    No sense having to reeducate everybody
     
  13. NoPoke

    NoPoke New Member

    :( Unown G is not worded like most protection effects. It seems closest to Fire Red Leaf Green Venomoth, which similarly just specifies attacks. In 2004 FRLG Venomoth's protective Dust was not restricted to the opponents attacks. But that is an old card and has an old rulling, it may have changed and we just don't know it. Untill I hear otherwise I intend to rule on Unown G like Venomoth. But I don't know if this is right or wrong.
     
  14. Ardoptres

    Ardoptres New Member

    so with Unown G's current wording, if I flip tails on Flygon ex PK's attack, I will still be able to attack with it next turn?
     
  15. NoPoke

    NoPoke New Member

    Based upon the card text: Yes.
    based upon how I expect the rulling to go: No.
    based upon how I'll currently rule: Yes.
    based upon what your Head Judge might rule:????


    like you say Life is simple, not easy
     
  16. PokePop

    PokePop Administrator

    A Ruling is imminent!
     
  17. NoPoke

    NoPoke New Member

    In time for my tournament tomorrow??
     
  18. Dr. Mason

    Dr. Mason New Member

    If the poke Unown G is attached to is attacked by Pachy's Smash Short, does the effect work? If it does, can it discard Unown G's in your hand?
     
  19. NoPoke

    NoPoke New Member

    ....argh......

    Right now I think the unown G will stay attached but you would do extra damage and would get to look at the opponents hand and discard any Tools of the same name. Except there aren't any Tools that would match as Unown G is a Pokemon. So maybe you don't even get to look.


    ...argh... I repeat ..argh..
     
  20. Ardoptres

    Ardoptres New Member

    The Supes: Unwon G is not a tool unless its power is used and it is attached to a pokemon.
     

Share This Page