Unown G

Discussion in 'Ask the Rules Team' started by pepper1231, Apr 29, 2008.

  1. pepper1231

    pepper1231 New Member

    Hi, I am wondering, Unown G states " ...As long as Unown G is attatched to a pokemon, prevent all effects of attacks, excluding damage, done to that pokemon"

    My Question is, what count as "effects" of an attack? Is it just like special conditions (burn, poison, sleep) or is it more than that?

    Example:

    Haunter (DP) with Unown G attatched is the defending pokemon

    Dusclops (Deoxys) uses psychic removal, flips two heads
    Would the energy be removed or not?

    Haunter (DP) with Unown G attatched is defending

    Altaria (GE) uses Cotton cloud, the damage is done, but is damage done by haunter during the next turn reduced since he is evolved?

    Thanks!:smile:
     
  2. PokePop

    PokePop Administrator

    Everything an attack does that does not do damage or calculate damage is an effect.
    Now, you also have to look and see if that effect is done to the Pokemon or to another Pokemon or done to something else.

    In your first example, the energy would not be removed.

    In your second example, the effect resides on Altaria, not on Haunter (the reduction is after Weakness and Resistance, so that means it's on what will be the Defending Pokemon at the time of that attack, which is Altaria), so it is not prevented by Unown G.
    If the effect were placed on Haunter, then it would have been prevented.
     

Share This Page