Venomoth Shift with new ruling

Discussion in 'Cards: Strategy and Rulings Discussion' started by Mr. Grass, Feb 14, 2004.

  1. Mr. Grass

    Mr. Grass New Member

    Q. Can Venomoth's "Shift" power override Promo Smeargle's "Paint" attack? If so, then procedurally speaking does the Coloring counter remain or does it get removed?
    A. Yes, it can. The coloring counter would remain but be essentially useless. (Mar 22, 2001 WotC Chat, Q45)

    Q. What would happen if a promo Smeargle paints a multi-type (more than
    one type of basic energy card attached) Kecleon? And for that matter,
    what would happen if an already painted Kecleon changed into another
    type with its body?
    A. Even though Kecleon's underlying type may change, the Coloring
    Counter overrides whatever type Kecleon is, or may become. (Jan 29, 2004 PUI
    Rules Team)


    So with the new ruling of Smeargle vs. Kecleon, would Smeargle's Paint marker permenantly override Shift? This is currently posted in Ask the Masters, but so far no response.
     
  2. Victor

    Victor New Member

    wich venomoth and wich smeargle?
     
  3. TheCrossFormatKid

    TheCrossFormatKid New Member

    Jungle venemoth and league promo smeargle
     
  4. NoPoke

    NoPoke New Member

    FWIW I'd rule yes the colouring counter takes precedence.

    Its not unheard of for old rulings to be overturned in the light of interactions with cards in newer sets. I believe that it'd get very messy if the colouring counter didn't overrule Kecleon's body.

    The colouring counter is a continuous effect kecleon's body is a continuous effect. One of them has to win and the ruling is that its the counter. Shift is activated so would always loose to a continuous effect.
     

Share This Page